Tachometer question? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-18-2009, 08:45 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Tachometer question?

I have a 97 F350 SRW/ 7.3 PS/E4OD tranny all stock. My tach. in the dash or instrument cluster is reading about 500 to 700 rpms more than it should ( compared to diagnostic tool hooked into diagnostic port). The tach once read properly but went flaky intermittantly reading high. Now it reads high all the time. I have an AIC (fast idle box or sometimes called "acpm") it has never read rpms, but will go into high idle mode when I ask it to. I just had my cam position sensor changed per a factory recall, and was hoping this would fix the tach and the AIC too. But everything is still the same no read-out for rpms on AIC and tachometer in dash still reading high.

I thought that the transmission was having trouble due to the elevated rpms but the guys at the tranny shop said it was fine, no codes registered, and shifted as expected while being monitored by diagnostic tool.

Does any one have any insight as to what the problem may be?

thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 07-20-2009, 08:53 PM
Electrical Ogre
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 11,526
Thanks: 29
Thanked 48 Times in 45 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Your tach may be crapping out. If you can find another from a diesel at a wrecking yard, it just plugs in. Some PCMs didn't have programming for the APCM, or something wasn't right, a dealer may be able to re-flash it for you. My APCM in my 96 didn't show RPMs or voltage in charge protect mode when I installed it. When I bought my custom chip from Tony Wildman, I mentioned this problem, and he must have added something to the programming, because it worked properly after installing the chip.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors