OBS CC REPLACEMENT ???? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
94-98 7.3L Exterior Discussion Body and Accessories Talk

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-19-2010, 03:44 AM
Hillbilly Deluxe

Feedback Score: 3 reviews
OBS CC REPLACEMENT ????

Well i got a smokin deal on my truck and at the time i wasn't so concerned with the amount of rust that it had. Only that it had a powerstroke, was 4wheel peal, and it was a CC. Oh and that i was only giving $2600 for her.

So now i am a little concerned with the condition of the cab. Drivers and passenger side floors are rotted through, and drivers cab mount is in bad shape. Rear cab corners are shot as well.

Has anyone ever replaced an entire cab before?? I am a pretty accomplished DIY mechanic and am sure i could handle it. I just am wondering how involved it is? Would it be easier and more cost effective to just fix what is bad? I am just not keen on having a bunch on bondo in my truck. I would rather fix things right one time then have to fix it again in a few years.

Thoughts, suggestions, how to's, past experiences are all welcome!!!! Let me know what you guys think. Will try to post some pic's of the bad areas....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-28-2010, 05:54 AM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Its probly going to cost alot just to fix all that rust, what you can, and idk where your located but ,i have 2001 with minimal rust which i cant stand it, may not last a season. I was told this by a one of the best places to go up here in northern wi. I''d shop around for a cab with doors. I'll be looking for doors and a bed, sandblasting the bottom of the cab and getting rhino liner to match my paints and leave it fixed, it seals it. Theres many different routes to go but i like to get it done right the first time, not after a few tries.
Old 08-28-2010, 07:01 AM