No downshift and turn signal unlocks TC - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-20-2012, 10:10 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Madison Heights MI
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
No downshift and turn signal unlocks TC

So this is my first PSD truck and i'm finding the way it drives a little annoying. First of all there doesn't seem to be a passing mode. While cruising around at 30-40mph and mashing the throttle it never kicks down a gear and accelerates. It just slowly climbs up in speed and sometimes it almost feels like it upshifts. Is this just a nature of the beast or do I need to be looking for something?

Another problem I have it that using the turn signal unlocks the TC at freeway speeds and will shut off the cruise control too if it's engaged.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 06-20-2012, 11:54 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Tehachapi, CA
Posts: 1,540
Thanks: 0
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Look for a burned out bulb for the turn signal issue (its a Ford thing). Cheers!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 06-20-2012, 12:20 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 2,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Specifically, check the center stop light in the cab roof.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 06-21-2012, 05:02 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Madison Heights MI
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Checked all my bulbs and they are good. Plus my truck is a 92 so no high mount stop light. I did have to do some wiring modifications to the harness when I installed the 96 PSD setup. I should probably check those areas first.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 06-21-2012, 05:23 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 2,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martinique78 View Post
Plus my truck is a 92 so no high mount stop light.
There's your trouble. That's the same as the bulb being burned out. You need to put a dummy resistor in the brake light circuit where that center stop light would go.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 06-21-2012, 08:38 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Madison Heights MI
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Really? that would cause that much of a problem? What size resistor would I need to put in? do I just connect the other end to ground?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 06-21-2012, 08:48 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 2,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yup, when that light is burned out (or in your case, just not there), and then you hit the turn signal, since the turn signal bulbs on the bed are the same filament as the brake lights, that causes some kind of sneak circuit back to the brake light wiring, making it look like you've hit the brake pedal; the PCM picks that up and unlocks the TC and interrupts the cruise. This is why I love that my wife has both ZF5s (she won't drive an auto); yeah, you lose the cruise, but then you just hit Resume.

Not sure what rating of resistor. Probably something similar to what some guys use in conjunction with LED bulbs, for similar issues. Should work to just ground the other end. This _has_ to go in the brake light wire that comes right from the pedal switch, _not_ one of the wires going back to the bulbs in the bed (since they go through the turn signal switch).
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 06-21-2012, 09:12 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Madison Heights MI
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by madpogue View Post
Yup, when that light is burned out (or in your case, just not there), and then you hit the turn signal, since the turn signal bulbs on the bed are the same filament as the brake lights, that causes some kind of sneak circuit back to the brake light wiring, making it look like you've hit the brake pedal; the PCM picks that up and unlocks the TC and interrupts the cruise. This is why I love that my wife has both ZF5s (she won't drive an auto); yeah, you lose the cruise, but then you just hit Resume.

Not sure what rating of resistor. Probably something similar to what some guys use in conjunction with LED bulbs, for similar issues. Should work to just ground the other end. This _has_ to go in the brake light wire that comes right from the pedal switch, _not_ one of the wires going back to the bulbs in the bed (since they go through the turn signal switch).
Thats f-ed up. I just have the pigtail that would have gone to the third brake light taped up under the dash where it would have gone into the connector going to the back of the truck. Could I just tie it in there? Should I just measure the resistance of a bulb and put the same resistance size in there? I'm guessing it's going to have to be a high wattage resistor.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 06-21-2012, 09:29 AM
Hee Hee, he's doing it...
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 5,070
Thanks: 39
Thanked 64 Times in 61 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
50W resistor. These get hot so get one with cooling fins or it may melt anything else touching it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 06-21-2012, 09:44 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 2,605
Thanks: 1
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martinique78 View Post
Thats f-ed up. I just have the pigtail that would have gone to the third brake light taped up under the dash where it would have gone into the connector going to the back of the truck. Could I just tie it in there? Should I just measure the resistance of a bulb and put the same resistance size in there? I'm guessing it's going to have to be a high wattage resistor.
Yeah, should work to plug the resistor into that pigtail. Resistors are measured in ohms, so yeah, measure the resistance of a 912 (is that it?) bulb and match.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors