clutch bleeding - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 Old 06-21-2011, 03:39 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
clutch bleeding

I. Have a 97 4wd. How do I bleed the whole clutch system on the truck?, any help would be appreciated!


Thanks, jake
jake_v_03 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 06-21-2011, 09:00 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: North Port
Posts: 920
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
theres a allen key screw right next to the line. And bleed it like brakes
96F350KID is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 06-21-2011, 10:00 PM
Shade tree mechanic


 
95dieselsmoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Lake Tapps, Wa.
Posts: 8,298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 96F350KID View Post
theres a allen key screw right next to the line. And bleed it like brakes
Really? I've never seen a bleeder screw on the assembly before

MATT

Now featuring a 6.4 fat bottum 6 speed
95 f250--238k and counting
RDS stage I's-TW live tuned-Dana 60 swap-9" lift/40x13.5x20 ProComps-ZF5 swap/short throw/South Bend CON OFE-Iron Bull front-AFE CAI-SD innercooler-Fab Tech traction bars-MBRP DP/6" black miters-Autometer boost/pyro

"If you dont have ambition and big dreams, you end up working hard for someone who does"
95dieselsmoke is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 06-22-2011, 09:35 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: North Port
Posts: 920
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Its not a bleeder screw like a normal one. Its a screw that allows the passage to open and close to remove the air.
96F350KID is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 06-22-2011, 01:05 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
nice ill have to try that thanks alot!
jake_v_03 is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 06-28-2011, 08:08 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
If there is air in the slave cylinder, it has to be taken off and bench bled. While you have the slave off, gravity bleed the master cylinder. be prepared to do this at least a couple of times.
detroit-diesel is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 06-28-2011, 09:31 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: North Port
Posts: 920
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
You can't bench bleed the slave. If you do then when your done you'll just have air in it again when you connect the line. On the top of the slave, there is a 4MM allen head screw that is the bleeder. Bleed it like a brake system. After the air is out of the slave you'll notice it'll take a LOT of pumping to get the clutch up again.
96F350KID is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 06-28-2011, 07:10 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
If theres a bleeder screw on your slave cylinder, than consider yourself lucky. i just put one on my 96 and i can assure you that there is no bleeder screw.
detroit-diesel is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 06-28-2011, 08:26 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: North Port
Posts: 920
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Where did you get it from? GP is the ones i use and Napas brand also has one. Im just curious where you go it from?
96F350KID is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 06-29-2011, 06:51 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I had to put a duralast one on, I didn't want to but I was in a pinch about 200 miles away from my garage and that's all I could get at the time.
detroit-diesel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome