Neutral safety switch replacement - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 Old 05-27-2011, 03:42 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Neutral safety switch replacement

Can someone please just tell me how to replace the neutral safety switch e4od 1996 powerstroke please!
cubid1997 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 05-27-2011, 04:09 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Or if this is how it is please let me know place vehicle in neutral .. Unplug the switch in bolt the 15 mm bolt ( hold shift rid so it doesn't move from
Neutral to drve and so on) also 2 8 mm bolts .. Question I really have is the new switch are you able and how do you know it's in neutral on the new switch before installed ?
cubid1997 is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 05-27-2011, 05:09 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
dazdillenger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: upstate ny
Posts: 2,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 7 reviews
the new range sensor should have 2 small dots on it. they line up when the truck is in neutral. If it is in park, or any other gear, they will not line up.
dazdillenger is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 05-27-2011, 05:57 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
How do I put the new one in neutral before it's attached to the truck?
cubid1997 is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 05-27-2011, 06:00 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
dazdillenger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: upstate ny
Posts: 2,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 7 reviews
you don't have to. Bolt it to the trans, but leave it loose. Put the truck in Neutral, then go under the truck, and align the marks. At that point tighten the range sensor and test it out!
dazdillenger is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 05-28-2011, 03:30 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
So when I first go ahead and take it apart do I not need to put it in neutral ?
cubid1997 is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 05-28-2011, 03:42 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
cubid1997 is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 05-28-2011, 06:43 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
dazdillenger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: upstate ny
Posts: 2,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 7 reviews
Yes-put the truck in neutral, unbolt the switch. Put the new switch on, and line up the 2 dots. Then tighten the switch-its very easy! good luck.

and its called a range sensor.
dazdillenger is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 05-28-2011, 02:40 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ok so basically I can see how the old one is with the dots correct?
cubid1997 is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 05-28-2011, 02:40 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'm sure it's easy just trying to make this one shot sorry for all the stupid questions just want to make sure it's done right the first time
cubid1997 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome