hard shifts and speedo not working - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-10-2009, 09:56 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
hard shifts and speedo not working

OK I have a 1997 ps 250 4x4, my wife got in it to go to work and the speedo did not work and it shifts hard as well, after going to second gear the OD light starts flashing. I replaced the sensor in the rearend and checked wiring to the psom in the instrument cluster, the abs light does not come on. Any ideas where to go next?

thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 12-11-2009, 03:52 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,166
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Has the od flashing light come back on since you replaced the speed sensor???
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 12-13-2009, 09:52 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yes, Nothing changed at all after replacing the speed sensor, what I have also done is jack the truck up and put my volt meter on AC and check the voltage on the two wires from the sensor at the back of the speedometer and the voltage varried from .2 vac to 1.9 vac as I speed up the rear wheels to about 40 mph.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 12-13-2009, 10:51 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,166
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The last time I saw that it was a fuse. I don't remember which one.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 12-14-2009, 04:33 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I checked all the fuses in the fuse box under the hood and under the Dash, There are only 2 (I think) but I didn't find any bad fuses.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 12-14-2009, 12:07 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,166
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It may be time to get someone who is good on electrical stuff to ck it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 12-14-2009, 12:16 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Only thing left is the speedometer and I found 1 for $85 so I will give it a shot, if that doesn't do it I think I will trade for a 6 speed and a gps.

Thanks for the help.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 12-17-2009, 07:55 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thumbs up

Well I got it fixed, the new instrument cluster took care of it.

Thanks for all the help and support.

David
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 02-19-2010, 07:57 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: dallastx
Posts: 65
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
hey man im having a the same isue with a 97 e350 what exactly did you do to get it fix
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 02-19-2010, 10:30 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I had to replace the speedometer (the whole guage cluster).

Is your abs light coming on, if so change the sensor in the rear diff.

If not it is probably the speedometer guage cluster, my son found one in a junk yard for $80, my truck is an auto and he found a manual but it didn't seem to matter the gear indicator just swapped out, it's only held in by 2 screws. make note of miles on the old speedo and the new one so you will know the difference, or you can go get a new one from the dealer and they can set the miles for you(expensive).

Good luck
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors