97 7.3L diesel E4OD Shifts Extremely Hard! HELP! - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 Old 07-11-2009, 04:07 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
97 7.3L diesel E4OD Shifts Extremely Hard! HELP!

So I bought this truck knowing it had a bad torque converter and possible bad trans. So after inspecting I found a lot of metal in the torque converter and it seemed locked upon driving it. So I put a new rebuilt transmission and torque converter in and it still shifted hard. this first transmission died after only 60 miles. So the shop built me another one and sent another new converter. Put this one in and it shifted hard. After driving it 10 miles it suddenly became better. The next day it shifted hard then smooth then hard again. You just never know. When I say it shifts hard I mean it feels like its going to drop out any moment. So then I replaced.

1) Vehicle speed sensor VSS
2) Throttle Position Sensor
3) Took out speedometer cluster and cleaned connections put back in.

Neither of these things helped. I also reset the Odometer/speedometer. Every time I think it's ok it goes back to shifting hard. I noticed that when it shifts hard that it acts weird when I put it in reverse. Like it idles down farther than when putting in drive. Also I noticed that I have an RPM difference when I shift from Park to 1st (800rpm) than park to drive (1000rpm). Weird.

Also I checked the fluid level many times.
Any advice would be appreciated.
ajwaldrop is offline  
post #2 of 12 Old 07-11-2009, 04:11 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Forgot to mention that the Over drive light never blinks however it does work. No engine codes either.
ajwaldrop is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 07-11-2009, 04:11 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5,626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Thanks: 5
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
did you replace the tranny cooler when you replaced the tranny? maybe the cooler had shavings as well.....and they have now gotten into your new converter and trsnny

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ianstew
There is a difference in a government acting responsibly within their powers, and a government that just decides what their powers are and what responsibility means based on political whimsy.
ianstew is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 07-11-2009, 04:12 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
97 golden stroker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 781
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
did you reset the computer befor you drove the truck becuse if not the computer may think that the tranny is still mest up.

97
afe intake
ats intercooler
3in. down pipe to 4in str8
fpr shim
terminator hpop
warm up valve delete
tw 6 position
southbend clutch
Stage ones from Rosewood diesel
SD IDM
d66
12000k hid dual element
thinking real hard about a nozzle upgrade




220k
97 golden stroker is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 07-11-2009, 04:17 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I cleaned the trans cooler twice but I had the same thought. I disconnected the battery for a whole day and then connected again. I assume that would reset it?
ajwaldrop is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 07-11-2009, 04:18 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Oh.. also under hard acceleration it shifts fine.
ajwaldrop is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 07-11-2009, 04:18 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5,626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Thanks: 5
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
maybe the shop your using is not doing something right......

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ianstew
There is a difference in a government acting responsibly within their powers, and a government that just decides what their powers are and what responsibility means based on political whimsy.
ianstew is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 07-12-2009, 01:36 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Type 2 Sniffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ft. Bragg
Posts: 332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It sounds like you are still in fail safe mode. I don't know if just unhooking the batteries will clear it. I know with the ABS it doesn't. Hope you figure it out. Have you dropped the pan and checked i there are any shavings in the fluid? If not, I think ianstew is right.

Si vis pacem, para bellum

2002 F-250 Lariat
7.3L Powerstroke: Zoodad Mod, Foil Delete, NAPA Intake, MBRP 4", ISSPRO 3-gauge
-----------------------------------------------
Type 2 Sniffer is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 07-12-2009, 02:20 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
mrubel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
if you are in fail safe mode you will need to get an OBDII scanner to clear that mode. if not then maybe the engine mounts are loose. when the engine mounts are loose that can cause the erratic idle. the shavings in the torque converter are from the converter locking up and not being able to unlock. i had the same problem with mine and i put a new converter in it and it seemed to run fine. are u sure the tranny is good? there are shops out there that say they rebuilt them but just held it for a while and sent it back.
mrubel is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 08-08-2009, 08:15 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Is there a protocol for resetting the computer?
kpapendi is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome