96 f350 cold start question. - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-17-2013, 04:07 AM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
96 f350 cold start question.

Not sure if this is a problem but figured I would post here in case it is. Again I am new to owning a diesel. It's finally gotten "cold" here in Florida, whopping 40*. The last two mornings when I start my truck it wouldn't fire up after first glow plug cycle. I had to cycle the glow plugs again and it fired right up no problem. Once started it purred like a kitten no lagging or loud "clacking". I've search the forums and some say this could be a sign of injectors going bad? Or is this normal? Thanks for any help and advice!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-18-2013, 06:06 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

i would test your glow plug relay first then maybe glow plugs. look it up on youtube, there are some videos that show you how. if you want to know if your o-rings are getting bad an easy way is to check your fuel filter and see if its black. that'd be oil if it is and caused by injector o-rings getting worn. but i would start with the relay. also a very easy test. make sure your meter u test with is on DC voltage.
Old 12-19-2013, 05:48 AM