turbo rebuild and reseal and still blowing blue smoke - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-14-2013, 03:31 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
turbo rebuild and reseal and still blowing blue smoke

Hey guys, had a few questions for y'all. I'm pretty new to the 7.3 so I'm just needing a little help diagnosing my problem.

I recently ran into problems with my tp38 leaking oil out of the turbine seal and thus blowing blue smoke everywhere. Well I was planning on doing an EBPV delete because I was also having pedestal trouble so I went ahead and bought the new pedestal and deleted the EBPV (I got tired of my truck sounding like a jet at 3 in the morning). In doing so I found that my bearing housing was cracked, so I ordered a new one of those too. I rebuilt my turbo using all the new components and a new rebuild kit, and everything was fine for around a month, then last week it started blowing heavy blue smoke. Thinking that I may have gotten a bad batch of seals, I ordered new seals and resealed it this past weekend. I let the turbine housing, and everything that had oil on it, sit in cleaner to try to get the residue off so that when I finished resealing the turbo it wouldn't smoke. Well I put everything back together, fired it up and let it idle for 15 min or so, then I took it for a drive to see what happened. It still smoked. I drove it a while thinking that some of the oil may not have been taken away but cleaner but it never got better. Today I pulled the flange off the turbo and sure enough the inside was COATED in fresh oil as if I hadn't resealed it.

Here's a list of all the tp38 parts that are new:
Non-ebpv pedestal
rebuild kit
reseal kit
bearing housing
wicked wheel
(should've just bought a new turbo)