Stubborn no start issue, looking for advice - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-18-2013, 06:33 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,355
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Stubborn no start issue, looking for advice

Got a friend's pickup at my place trying to get it going again. It's a 95 F250 with e-fuel, Farmer's Diesel injectors (somewhere around 300cc w/100% nozzles I believe), Terminator dual HPOPs, Tyrant tunes, S468 turbo, etc. When I picked the truck up the problem was it wouldn't crank... when you hit the key the starter relay on the fender would smoke. That problem has been resolved, but now the truck won't run. It has run twice for about 3 minutes, but the majority of the time it will crank and crank and crank but NO smoke from the exhaust, no cough, no sputter, no anything. Here's what I have done so far:

Checked all fuses (ad nauseum)
Swapped PCM relay
Swapped CPS (3 different sensors, multiple swaps)
Tried starting with and without ICP plugged in
Checked UVCH's, replaced passenger side due to burned UVCH/gasket
No fuel in coolant
No fuel in oil
HPO reservoir is full
Oil pan is full
Fuel is full
Fuel PSI is 65-67
Tried starting with and without chip installed
Cleaned IPR
Swapped IPR
Checked voltage at IPR plug

My truck starts and runs fine with his PCM, IDM and his IPR harness in my truck so those 3 things are good. Since this is a 95 AutoEnginuity has major heart burn trying to talk to the PCM, I have not been able to get AE to connect, even after calling AE and trying different settings and such with them on the phone while I was in the truck.

WHEN it runs, it runs fine, but only for 3-4 minutes then dies like the key has been shut off. I did ohm test the injectors and they ohmed out high, but they all ohmed out high and the readings between injectors were similar so I'm thinking my multimeter must have been having a bad moment or something. I'm at a loss for what to look for or try next. Suggestions would be highly appreciated!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 03-18-2013, 06:44 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 485
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
If you have a chip, pull it. I was having a similar issue and removed the chip, the truck runs fine now. I'm still not certain what happened to my chip, so I'm awaiting an e-mail from Tony to decide what to do with it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 03-18-2013, 07:08 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 2,991
Thanks: 2
Thanked 65 Times in 63 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
AE should be able to talk to it with your PCM. Or put his PCM in your truck and try to get AE to talk to it. We have two '95s, and select "non-OBDII" wherever you do that in AE (don't have it on this computer), and it hooks up just fine.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 03-18-2013, 11:38 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,355
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgg93 View Post
If you have a chip, pull it. I was having a similar issue and removed the chip, the truck runs fine now. I'm still not certain what happened to my chip, so I'm awaiting an e-mail from Tony to decide what to do with it.

And I repeat
Quote:
Originally Posted by superduty4x4 View Post
Tried starting with and without chip installed
Quote:
Originally Posted by madpogue View Post
AE should be able to talk to it with your PCM. Or put his PCM in your truck and try to get AE to talk to it. We have two '95s, and select "non-OBDII" wherever you do that in AE (don't have it on this computer), and it hooks up just fine.
Should and will are two different things. Talking with the tech at AE he suspects that the PCM wasn't re-flashed to be OBD2 compatible. The owner of the truck has always had a headache getting AE to work as well.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors