97 7.3 Hard to no start when warm - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-13-2013, 01:07 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Cool 97 7.3 Hard to no start when warm

I have seen the other posts that discuss this issue, but i'm a newbie at diesels but very competent in mechanical work. I have a 97 CCLB 4x4 with the 7.3. I bought it from a guy who installed an edge eve tune on it on 3 (Extreme). It has straight exhaust and a AFE intake. I have replaced the glow plugs, glowplug relay, fuel pump, and the entire ac system of which still having a problem with the shims in the compressor. I have done all this myself with no problems.

Recently i noticed my truck would take a little longer to start after running it for awhile and thought I had some kind of bad diesel. after a week or so it got better with no notice in lagging cranking time. About 3 days ago it started taking 5-10 sec to crank when warm. No problem starting when cold in the mornings. I got onto all the forums and the suggestion was a bad IPR or ICP Sensor. Both expensive but I want my truck to be right! So I replaced both of them the IPR first with no change and then the ICP today. Truck never left me stranded till today. Eventually started up so I hauled *** home. I checked the level of oil in engine and HPOP, it was good and I changed it about 2 weeks ago with fresh oil filter. I also replaced the seals on the oil cooler then aswell because of a leak.