starts and runs great...intermittent low power - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-03-2012, 10:48 AM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
starts and runs great...intermittent low power

I'll try n keep it short.
I've owned more than 10 of these 94.5-97 "modern classics"...and obviously LOVE them!! .... While I know quite a bit about them and how they work, I am no expert...I just bought this '97 F350 XLT crew long auto with 225k miles.(not the one in the picture...I loved that truck but I prefer a long bed)

I haven't experienced this problem that I am having before and am at a little bit of a loss.

First off it starts like a hot damn, no smoke at all. Simply amazing.
It does take a long time to warm up (longer than any other that I've owned)
It seems like the ebp valve is staying closed for longer than normal, as there is no boost or power for at least 10 minutes of easy driving, I can't pull out into traffic as I would get rear ended!! I should note that there is no audible hiss like most I've had)...Then all of the sudden, she comes alive and runs as good as any that I've owned!!

Secondly though, it will randomly sometimes 30 miles down the road, start to run out of power (seems like no boost), it will have trouble keeping up with traffic and I have to pull over...let it idle for a few minutes, rev it up in neutral, and then i pull out on the road and it will run perfect again!!

Is it possible that the ebp valve is acting up and closing while driving??
I am also thinking maybe fuel pressure sensor??
Anybody else experience this?? Tips and ideas would be greatly appreciated!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-04-2012, 08:16 PM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
OK so I disconnected the two wire connector to the ebp valve solenoid...