Single cylinder knock? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-07-2012, 10:19 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Single cylinder knock?

Hi, all - Frequent lurker, first time poster.* I'm not a mechanic by trade, but I do a fair bit of car/truck repair and have worked on diesels
in the past.* That said, I've never had to troubleshoot something like this and I haven't found any posts that seem to relate this sort of issue.
First of all, this is a 96 Ford F250 7.3 with 118,362 miles w/ automatic.* It is bone stock with single-shot OEM injectors.* I do not know
the overall history on this truck, so I don't know if it's ever gotten new injectors, etc.* This is my buddy's truck, and I'm helping him out
since he's a single dad with 2 kids and an all-around good guy.
Recently he had the lift pump replaced.* Shortly thereafter, a knock showed up out of the blue.
The engine starts and runs well, and it doesn't seem to be smoking in any unusual way.* The owner says it seems to run like normal, with the
exception of the new knock.
The oil was replaced about 1,000 miles ago.
The knock seems to be coming from the driver side, and it sounds like it is from a single cylinder.* It occurs at idle, when revved up, and
when the engine is decelerating from a higher RPM, in gear or out of gear.* It does not appear to be present at first start, but it shows up
after the engine has run for a few minutes or has been revved up.
I:
Checked for engine codes, no engine codes found, no CEL.
Completed the contribution test 4 times, passed every time.
Completed injector buzz test 3 times, and it passed each time.
Completed KOEO and KOER tests, results are good.
HPOP pressure is above 500PSI at idle, and somewhere around 3,000PSI at higher RPMS, according to the scanner.* I have not confirmed this