priming new fuel pump? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-17-2011, 10:12 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
priming new fuel pump?

whats the correct way to prime a new fuel pump
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 11-14-2011, 01:31 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
help

Quote:
Originally Posted by somkinbandit@aol.com View Post
whats the correct way to prime a new fuel pump
I need help with this same situation..new fuel pump all put togeather but no start?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 11-14-2011, 02:17 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 3,527
Thanks: 7
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
try filling the fuel bowl with diesel. make sure you aren't on E.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 11-14-2011, 02:47 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nacogdoches, TX
Posts: 11,061
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Mechanical ones are fun. Don't think they have a priming pump. If not, then it's just gonna be cranking till you get fuel to it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 11-14-2011, 07:31 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i hooked a hand pump up to the fuel line and pump till i got fuel then started the truck thanks for all the help she run like a dream now
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 11-15-2011, 04:28 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ok

Ok its all good now I forgot to hook the harness back into the hpop;/ duh!! Thanks for the advice.I guess where I had cranked on the truck so long with the wire loose it put pressure to the lines so when I did plug the wire in it started rite up. Lesson to be learned here is double check your work!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors