Fuel pump vs. Injection Pump - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-26-2011, 02:57 PM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Fuel pump vs. Injection Pump

Is a fuel pump the same thing as an injection pump? Shop just told me I have a fuel leak and need a new fuel pump. They want $575 parts and labor for the job and I am trying to do my due diligence in pricing and determining whether I can do the job myself or not.

I am not a mechanic but I have a DIY spirit .... if that counts for anything
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-26-2011, 03:04 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

There is no injection pump on a PSD. The fuel pump is in the valley of the motor under the turbo. Some guys pull the turbo to get to it, some have been able to get it out without pulling the turbo. Either way, the pump is about $120 and I wouldn't want to give the shop the extra $450 to do the work myself.
Old 04-26-2011, 03:25 PM

@superduty4x4, hate to put you on the spot but I won't hold you to it. If I have not worked on a diesel engine before, do you think I could do the fuel pump replacement myself. I am really trying to save the cash. I have to get my ball joints, tie rods and TTB bushings replaced and that isn't gonna be cheap. On top of that, they said I need my fuel pump, low pressure oil pump (didn't know there was one) and some other odds and ends fixed/replaced.

I reeling from the dollar signs flying away but I want to do this right so I can keep this truck running.
Old 04-26-2011, 04:00 PM

The fuel pump isn't all that bad to replace, from what I hear. I never had to do it on my 96. The problems most guys have are (1) getting to the banjo bolt on the back of the fuel pump and (2) losing the push rod inside the motor.