97 F350 Starts Runs Perfect But wont communicate with PCM?!?! - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-22-2010, 12:46 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ada, Oklahoma
Posts: 60
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Strokinokie
97 F350 Starts Runs Perfect But wont communicate with PCM?!?!

OK here is the deal! my 1997 F-350 "Ole Whitey" got a TS 6 position chip installed in her about 6 weeks ago. Ran better than ever ok so i have to drill the hole for the selector switch for the chip! I was at a Buddies house and used what was available drill-bit wise! needless to say i used too long of a drill bit and got into the wiring harness under the dash and created a No-start situation! I fixed repaired all the wires still nothing! "Checked ALL Fuses!" no wait to start light i tried everything to my knowledge and power to DIY and it was a no go! i took it to the House! They say it needs a PCM! I said OK but informed them of how the truck got there in the first place! So a month go's by and i get the PCM Re-manufactured from Oreillys! man what a wait! so now I get a phone call from ford saying My truck starts/runs fine except i have a check engine light and none of their scan-tools/equipment can communicate with the PCM! @$90 pr hour Im biting my nails! What would cause such a thing? why/how can a truck run just fine but not be able to communicate with the PCM? I'm Damn sure it isnt a fuse! Maybe someone who reads this has had a similar experience and could share! Thanks Ryan
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 12-22-2010, 12:53 AM
Rangers Lead The Way!
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Grampian PA / West Palm Beach FL
Posts: 11,586
Thanks: 0
Thanked 14 Times in 11 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
id go else where man, seems to me that they are taking you for a run
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 12-23-2010, 03:28 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: the deep woods of Maine
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
the DLC fuse is the same fuse as the cig lighter i would check that one first
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors