Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

96 f250 Glow Plug Relay issue

9K views 8 replies 3 participants last post by  Moterboy24 
#1 ·
Hi all, I am stumped on this glow plug relay. I am not very good with the wiring side of wrenching on stuff so hopefully someone who is can chime in. About a month ago, my GPR took a ****. So I replaced it with a Napa brand GPR. Worked great for about two weeks, then my glow plugs weren't working. I immediately thought that the Napa brand part had just taken a crap, so I ordered a nice white rodgers model that everybody reccomends. Got that, slapped it in, and still nothing. Now I know its something wiring related. With a multimeter I get 12 volts on the battery post, and 0 on everything else with the key off. With the key on, I still have 0 on everything. So it has to be something between the key being turned on, and the small post getting some juice? I don't know where to start looking. Thanks in advance gents!

#2 ·
One of the relay's big posts (measured to ground) should have 12V on it at all times (truck just sitting there, key off). If it doesn't you need to check the big Black wire with Orange stripe all the way back towards the batteries. There are fusible links in there and if they opened up you would get no voltage. Cheers!

#3 ·
Thank you for the reply Patrick. Yes, I do have 12 volts at the big post with the black and orange striped wire. My problem is when I turn the key on, I am not getting the 8 (I think) volts at the small post to actuate the relay. It looks like that power wire is controlled by the ignition switch? Sorry if the description is patchy, typing on a smart phone.

#4 ·
I'm fairly certain that two of the terminals should be "hot" all the time (+12v, give or take). The small terminal that's not hot should be grounded to close the relay, and the other large terminal should be showing ~11.5v or so with the relay closed (or more).

There shouldn't be 8v anywhere.

#5 ·