rotor change cant find correct hub socket - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-11-2013, 04:16 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 55
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
rotor change cant find correct hub socket

So im changing bearing rotors and pads. Simple enough done this to dozens of trucks in the past right? Well I thought so. After pulling apart my hub I grabbed my hub socket and tried to loosen the nut but then it didnt fit so then I looked at the nut inside and saw a style nut ive never seen before. So here I am hoping someone has seen this before and lead me to the correct tool. I have been to the parts store 4 times to find the right socket with no luck. Please help I am at a loss.
Attached Thumbnails
rotor change cant find correct hub socket-20131111_170715.jpg  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 11-11-2013, 04:19 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 55
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Here is a better pic of the nut
Attached Thumbnails
rotor change cant find correct hub socket-20131111_170715.jpg  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 11-11-2013, 04:20 PM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: CONUS
Posts: 100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I use a KD 2467 socket for that. You can do a search online for either a KD 2467 or KDS 2467 and that should be all you need. Local parts stores should have them. Hope this helps
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 11-11-2013, 04:22 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 55
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I own that one ill try it again
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 11-11-2013, 04:26 PM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: CONUS
Posts: 100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I can't tell from the picture, but did you already pull one of the spindle nuts off with the socket? If so, get a scribe(or small screwdriver) and pull the spacer out, and then you will be able to get the second one off
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 11-11-2013, 04:29 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 55
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
No I have not I'm gonna look around tomorrow I think the socket I need is the same style as mine just bigger
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 11-11-2013, 04:35 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 55
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks for the help I appreciate it
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 11-11-2013, 04:39 PM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: CONUS
Posts: 100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
No problem. It's been awhile since i have had mine apart so i am trying to recall from memory what all goes into it. It almost looks like you have some sort of a spacer in there that is hiding the actual spindle nut though.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 11-11-2013, 04:40 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 55
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yeah it's looks different from any I've done in the past
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 11-11-2013, 04:49 PM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: CONUS
Posts: 100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Looking at the picture again i think it may have been previously assembled improperly. You should have a spindle nut, then a spacer and finally another spindle nut. It might be that a PO had put both spindle nuts on and then the spacer on the outside. Try and get a scribe in there and see if that spacer moves.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors