trany/tire size - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-21-2011, 05:44 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 125
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
trany/tire size

Hi, heres what i found out today after spending 4hrs at the FORD garage.
I am having trouble with trany shifting in and out of OD.
After 4hrs the mechanics figured out that you can not re-program trany more
than 3 times and if you try after 3 times you get locked out,than the only thing you can do is buy another cluster at a cost of $200.00,if i go wrecking yard to
a used cluster i could end up with same problem.
Does anybody know about a work around.
What we have going on is,going from 315/75r/16 to 255/85/16 so the need to
re-program trany to shift right,thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 04-21-2011, 05:53 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 1,648
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 9 reviews
? Only reprogram 3 times? I've done that more than 3 times in the past month! What do you mean program it? Buy another cluster? What cluster? Elaborate more please, I dunno if I follow
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 04-21-2011, 09:37 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 125
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Question trany/tire size

Hi, yes,thats what the FORD DEALERSHIP told me that you can only re-program
and/or hook up their equipment and change what tire size are running (3)times
then after that you can not do it again.
This is what they said is how it works,TRANY=TO SPEEDO= PCM.
The newer trucks they said work like this,TRANY=PCM=SPEEDO.
Which what they said was the speedo is left out of the loop which did not make sense to me.
If you have done this several times please explain it to me as to how and what you used to do it,thank you:dunno.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 04-21-2011, 09:39 PM
Banned

 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bryan/College Station/Tyler, TEXAS
Posts: 26,354
Thanks: 7
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
the obs speedo can only be adjusted so many times. but i thought it was 6 times.

so it seems like the speedo reports back of the speed so the trans will know when to shift.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 04-21-2011, 10:55 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 125
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
trany/tire size

Ok,is there a work around,if so what is it or was this one of FORDS better ideas
Specifically how do you go about fixing this problem.
What did you use to reprogram your truck with different tire size,thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 04-21-2011, 11:04 PM
Banned

 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bryan/College Station/Tyler, TEXAS
Posts: 26,354
Thanks: 7
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
autoengineunity is the software we use to recal speedos as well as other a diag software.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 04-22-2011, 05:33 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 125
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ok,but what is the logic in only able recal speedo only so many times seems to me it should
not make any difference in how manes you do it,thanks for the info.
Autoengineunity has a tool for about $350.00 is this what you use or do you have to buy
their $1400.00 tool,thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 04-22-2011, 11:25 AM
Banned

 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bryan/College Station/Tyler, TEXAS
Posts: 26,354
Thanks: 7
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
the $359 is what we buy. its the ford only package. unless you want all cars lol.

and idk why on the limit on programs. could just have write once type memory and it filled up.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 04-23-2011, 03:58 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 125
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
TRANY/TIRE SIZE

Thats what a tech. from Autoengineunity said its like right once only dvds.you fill in one space at a time and can not go back over it

But thats the human race for you not too overly bright sometimes.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 04-23-2011, 03:59 PM
Banned

 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bryan/College Station/Tyler, TEXAS
Posts: 26,354
Thanks: 7
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
AutoEnginuity PC Scan Tool (USB)

i got mine from there.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors