Glow plug relay/solenoid - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
911 Urgent Situations Emergency Forum , Need Help Fast ? Post Here ! Urgent Topics Only

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-04-2006, 04:20 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Glow plug relay/solenoid

I have been having trouble starting my pickup lately. I did some investigating and found that the glow plug solenoid/relay was not applying power to the glow plugs. The coil is working because I can hear it engage, but no power out. I got a new relay and installed it (I checked it first and it worked), and then after installation I checked it and no power out. I took it off and checked it on the workbench, and I can feel the coil activating, but there is no continuity across the power terminals. I can't for the life of me see how I could have damaged this thing. Any thoughts or help. If I have one or more bad glow plugs, could this cause this problem? What's the best/easiest way to test the glow plugs, if that's what I need to do? 2001 F250 CrewCab 4x4, if that makes any difference.

Thanks,

Mike
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 12-04-2006, 04:28 PM
Almostdunfukinwidit


 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Trempealeau, WI
Posts: 31,335
Thanks: 126
Thanked 127 Times in 112 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
check the 7.3 tech files i think there is a post in there how to do it
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 12-04-2006, 04:57 PM
I don't know nuttin....

 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Tuttle, OK
Posts: 17,162
Thanks: 1
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
There is a 30 amp fuse under the hood that operates the GPR and Fuel heater. Check it and then we can go from there.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 12-04-2006, 04:57 PM
I don't know nuttin....

 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Tuttle, OK
Posts: 17,162
Thanks: 1
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Oh and to Powerstroke.org!!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 12-04-2006, 05:01 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have power to the relay (it's activating the coil).
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 12-04-2006, 05:04 PM
I don't know nuttin....

 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Tuttle, OK
Posts: 17,162
Thanks: 1
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by lt2fire View Post
I have power to the relay (it's activating the coil).
Opps, guess i read your post to fast. I thought you said you had no power.
Where did you get the relay?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 12-04-2006, 05:04 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The relay is receiving power, because I can hear and feel it activating. I am guessing that the old one is just carboned up from arcing - as far as I know it's the original. Is there anything that could cause my problem with the new one?

Thanks,

Mike
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 12-04-2006, 05:05 PM
I don't know nuttin....

 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Tuttle, OK
Posts: 17,162
Thanks: 1
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Where did you get the relay?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 12-04-2006, 05:09 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have power

I have power to the GPR because I can hear and feel the coil activating. I don't get power to the GP side of the relay, which I am guessing is due to it's age. Can anything that I've done have caused this problem with the new GPR or did I just get a dud? I don't see what could have happened, but maybe I'm missing something. I hooked it up the same way it was, but I don't see how or why it would matter if you switched a pair of wires to opposite terminals.

Thanks,

Mike
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 12-04-2006, 05:10 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I bought it on Ebay - it's an aftermarket unit, but it did work when I tried it on the bench before installing it. It doesn't close nearly as hard as the factory one seems to.

Mike
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors