6.0 wont start!! - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
911 Urgent Situations Emergency Forum , Need Help Fast ? Post Here ! Urgent Topics Only

User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 Old 12-15-2012, 09:31 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
897.3alltheway!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 854
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Thanks: 7
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
6.0 wont start!!

started it yesterday morning, ran fine all the way to work, then i come out and no start, it cranks and fires for about a second then dies

its on a full tank, and is getting fuel, had AAA double check both batteries only to find that is not the problem, so had it towed home and now im stumped, sorry for bad video, this is what it does

6.0 problem - YouTube

-Jeremy

Got A Few Rides...




897.3alltheway! is offline  
post #2 of 12 Old 12-26-2012, 02:27 PM
Premium Member

 
F350Powerstroker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Did you figure it out? Just saw the post if I had to guess I would say HPOP...?

~1973 F250 Highboy
~2003 F350 Super Duty XLT FX4 6.0 Powerstroke
4.56 Yukon Gears,Detroit Locker,37x13.5x17 Interco Super Swamper M16,8in Custom Lift,Bilstein 5125 Custom Valved Shocks (Triple Front/Dual Rear),Fabtech Dual Rear Shock Kit/Traction Bars,ARP Head Studs, Sinister Headers/Y Pipe/Regulated Return,175 cc Injectors,Edge Juice Platinum with Attitude,SCT Tunes,Snow Performance Stage 3 Water Methanol Injection,FASS 150/180,Banks Techni-cooler System,Fluidampr,4in Straight Pipes.
F350Powerstroker is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 12-26-2012, 02:32 PM
Premium Member

 
taskforcefreddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 964
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Bad FICM.


Sent from my iPhone using AutoGuide.com App
taskforcefreddy is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 12-26-2012, 04:18 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
897.3alltheway!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 854
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Thanks: 7
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ended up being the FICM, runs better then ever now!

-Jeremy

Got A Few Rides...




897.3alltheway! is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 12-27-2012, 08:01 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
typhon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
did it throw a cel? i am having the same problem and i just purchased a scangauge ii. i was wondering what code i should see if the ficm is bad.

also, did you replace with a stock unit?

sorry to ask so many questions, but i'm in a jam as well.

thx
typhon is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 12-27-2012, 08:42 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
DT620's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by typhon View Post
did it throw a cel? i am having the same problem and i just purchased a scangauge ii. i was wondering what code i should see if the ficm is bad.

also, did you replace with a stock unit?

sorry to ask so many questions, but i'm in a jam as well.

thx
I'm in The same boat.


Sent from my iPhone using AutoGuide.com App

2004 F250 CCSB FX4
  • SCT w/ Matt's SRL
  • MBRP 4" turbo back straight pipe w/ 4" to 6" MBRP black tip
  • Edge CTS
  • Riff Raff Diesel intercooler boots
DT620 is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 12-28-2012, 08:56 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
typhon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
scanned first thing this morning. no error codes found. does this mean that there is nothing wrong with my truck?! Ha Ha!
typhon is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 12-30-2012, 10:07 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
typhon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i'm going to try the ficm as many others have had a similar problem.

hope this helps anyone that has to replace a ficm. from what i have read, replacement with a stock unit is not the best option for me. you will end up with the same problem again. also, dealership pricing is in the stratosphere. if you do want to replace with a new unit, i checked at autozone and they charge $258.99. they offer no warranty though. other aftermarket places have upgraded ones, but on my budget, i have to look for a cheaper alternative.

that leaves rebuilding. i'm sure there are many places that offer this service. i found 1 place that seems pretty good for this option:
1) ficmfixer.com--base rebuild price $124--includes priority return shipping and a lifetime warranty

after contacting them, they stated that 50% of the repairs that come in to them had no error codes show up during scanning. that definitely sounds like my problem.

i'll keep ya posted as to how things go.
typhon is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 12-30-2012, 10:33 PM
Premium Member

 
taskforcefreddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 964
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You need to use scan gauge to monitor the voltage coming out of the FICM. A bad one will throw any codes. Do a search for scan gauge codes for the ones needed to monitor FICM.


Sent from my iPhone using AutoGuide.com App
taskforcefreddy is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 12-31-2012, 02:15 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
typhon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by taskforcefreddy View Post
You need to use scan gauge to monitor the voltage coming out of the FICM. A bad one will throw any codes. Do a search for scan gauge codes for the ones needed to monitor FICM.
I pulled it off of the truck and have it packed and ready to ship. I figure that even if it is not the problem, it's worth it for the peace of mind up the road, given the number of failures reported on the forums.
typhon is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome