Need Help ASAP. Truck running fine, just quit all of sudden - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
911 Urgent Situations Emergency Forum , Need Help Fast ? Post Here ! Urgent Topics Only

User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 Old 04-14-2011, 02:01 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Need Help ASAP. Truck running fine, just quit all of sudden

1997 f250 7.3

Title says it all, truck was running fine. Idling across plant and quit with no indication while it was running, like a light switch. Have fuel, have power, cranks and cranks. Guessing electrical, maybe injectors not getting power? Checked all fuses inside and under hood, good. Found a NAPA and changed I believe the crank sensor? One right on front of engine behind serpentine, still no start. How can I check the injectors for power? Have oil and good pressure while cranking. Help please. I'll post an end to thread once fixed! Stranded at work!

Last edited by HoosierTwan; 04-14-2011 at 06:01 PM.
HoosierTwan is offline  
post #2 of 21 Old 04-14-2011, 02:08 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Inland Empire
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Did you check for codes?? Possibly the suply of fuel some how quit.
BlownCooler is offline  
post #3 of 21 Old 04-14-2011, 02:11 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
there aren't any check engine lights....could it still have a code? I'm going to track down a code reader. Anyone with help feel free to call/txt
HoosierTwan is offline  
post #4 of 21 Old 04-14-2011, 02:24 PM
Shaking the Bush Boss
 
CHUCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Salisbury, NC
Posts: 9,740
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Check the mega fuses under the hood again. #30 PCM and fuel heater.

Could be the IDM, but I havent heard of one that stops working all together, usually causes 1 bank to stop firing.

Chuck
CHUCK is offline  
post #5 of 21 Old 04-14-2011, 06:09 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Soo guys, realized what i changed was the cam sensor....unless they gave me a faulty one, I'm still up a creek. Double,triple checked my maxi fuses. They are all good. My code reader showed 0. Had a buddy check with a fancy snap on one, pulled some codes. Cam circuit showed up, IDM, and high bank 1. Something about causes being a faulty IDM, PCM, or grounded circuit (blown fuse)....this is what I was afraid of. Bad brains. But as someone mentioned, would have just gone kaputt like that? No warning, like a light switch, and I was literally idling along, no load, so it wasn't jolted.

WHAT'S NEXT?

Is there a way to check either the ecm or idm? without just swapping parts?
HoosierTwan is offline  
post #6 of 21 Old 04-16-2011, 04:32 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Still down. Any insight from anyone? Got the truck back to my house now, last scanner pointed somewhat to IDM. I can't believe it just want bad in an instant without warning. Anyone know where I can get one to try? I really would think this has got to be electrical and something caused me to lose my injectors. Any help would be greatly appreciated. About to give up on this truck. It's a 97 with only 140k on it and in excellent shape. First the GPR (no big deal), then the brake lines (no big deal), then the batteries, then the starter (still not a huge deal, understandable) and now this. All in about 6 weeks time. . .grrrrrrrrrrrrrrr
HoosierTwan is offline  
post #7 of 21 Old 04-16-2011, 04:44 AM
'Merica


 
thecaptin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 2,132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
cam position sensor is always a good one to go at first on a 7.3

Jay
*04 Lariat CCLB 4x4
449RWHP 8/25/12 Montana
*08 Lariat CCLB 6spd 4x4
"Stock" 229RWHP DPF On
*L99 Lariat ECLB 4x4
305RWHP 6/20/13
*03 Ranger XLT 4x4
4.0 5spd Flatbed Wheeler



Troubleshooting a No-Start Condition

Quote:
Originally Posted by Galaxie View Post
(Government says)Whats good for you is good for all but not good for me. Just like Obamacare and everything else.
thecaptin is offline  
post #8 of 21 Old 04-16-2011, 08:00 AM
Mod Newbie

 
dhanna6powerstroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 13,144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Thanks: 6
Thanked 141 Times in 133 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Does your "Wait To Start" light come on? Was the sensor you replaced down on the bottom?

BTW, where are you from? Going by your user name, somewhere in Indiana?

dhanna6powerstroke is offline  
post #9 of 21 Old 04-16-2011, 02:41 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Wait to start light does come on. I get good oil pressure while cranking. No blown fuses. Already changed the cam sensor, unless it was bad, but it is seated correctly. Hoping to get my hands on a good IDM or find a truck that someone would let me try mine in to see if it stops theirs from starting. If it seems to be good still, then I guess I'll eat another cam sensor and put a new one in again. Is there anything else I'm missing

Yep, in northern Indiana. Right in the middle in Goshen, IN. If anyone could help PM me and I'll get you my phone number. Thanks in advance
HoosierTwan is offline  
post #10 of 21 Old 04-17-2011, 06:40 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Just found the GB Tech Bulletin on testing out injector wiring prior to installing a new IDM. Should I assume if everything passes as good, and CPS has been changed...I'm looking at a faulty IDM? Still working on it. . .why is it that every thread I see on this issues usually just stops with no answer? Once I get it licked I'll for sure have a final posting explaining.
HoosierTwan is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome