93 F350 7.3L Tranny Question - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
7.3L IDI (Non-Powerstroke) Diesels Technical discussion of topics related to vehicles powered by the 7.3 Liter In-Direct Injection Navistar engines.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-24-2008, 03:19 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
93 F350 7.3L Tranny Question

Hi guys, I am new to the ford diesel world but not new the diesel in general!

I just purchased a used U-Haul Truck, 14ft which is a F350 powered by 7.3L diesel. It has 275K on it matted to a automatic tranny. When I took delievery the guy said the tranny will need to be adjusted because the engin speed should be slower when operating on the hightway. I used the gear shift and when threw 1, then 2, then Drive and it shifted each time. My thoughts are this guy is use to the newer tanny's. The RPM's are 2500 at 80KM/h or 50 mph and around 3100 at 100km/h or 60 mph. Should I be aware of anything? I do not see a tow butten or anything that indicates a OD.

Thanks Dave
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-24-2008, 03:28 PM
BIG TRUCK, SMALL DRIVER

The OD button should be in the center of the gear shift lever, if it has one. I don't think you could get a C6 in '93, but I'm not sure. What rear end ratio is in it? 3100 RPM is high to be running extended periods.
Old 01-24-2008, 04:18 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

I think U-Haul was able to get the C-6 for a while, I have seen them advertised with the C-6, RPM's sure point toward a C-6 too. I did not Know U-haul used the 7.3 past '91 though.
Old 01-24-2008, 04:26 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

I am not sure what the rear end ratio's are, but it does seem to be high rev's.
Old 01-25-2008, 05:35 AM
Compression Ignition Addict