88 IDI New to the Diesels - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
7.3L IDI (Non-Powerstroke) Diesels Technical discussion of topics related to vehicles powered by the 7.3 Liter In-Direct Injection Navistar engines.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-04-2007, 11:44 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
88 IDI New to the Diesels

Hey guys Im new to fords and diesels but anyway, Question: I have an 88 7.3 and my truck has to have the glow plugs cycled numerous times to get this thing started. Usually Ill try to get it started about an hour befor i have to go. The previous owner really did some rigging on the wire from the column and gauges. I have 2 toggle switches, one for the gp's and the other to start it while the key is turned over. Confusing and retarted i know. Before it stared getting real cold out it might only take me 3-6 cranks to get'r going but now its a nightmare! Please help me out! Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-04-2007, 12:00 PM
Desert Shield/Storm Vet

I am not familiar with idi's, so I will defer to someone more knowlegable on this one
Old 12-04-2007, 07:08 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

i am currently dealing with a similar problem. first off, plug it in, that will help it start. Does the gp toggle start the glowplugs for as long as they decide to come on? or is it a manual gp system? If it is a switch to run the standard gp set up, your controller could be bad, this is a unit that tells the gp's how cold it is. Mine was bad, i am not sure, someone correct me, but on the 7.3 idi the controller and relay is all in one, or are the seperate? But i say check out the controller, the relay, and the glowplugs? Those more knowedgable than me and with more information should be able to get you going. Good Luck!
Old 12-04-2007, 08:15 PM
Compression Ignition Addict