Cam position sensor location? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

7.3L IDI (Non-Powerstroke) Diesels Technical discussion of topics related to vehicles powered by the 7.3 Liter In-Direct Injection Navistar engines.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 Old 01-10-2012, 09:08 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Question Cam position sensor location?

I've got a 94' F350 IDI that I am having problems with and thought I would start here. The truck has 222K miles on it and has never been replaced that I know of. Every where says it's in the 11 o'clock position over the harmonic balancer but I just cannot see it.

Am I looking in the right place?

Is it behind something and recessed in the block?

Thanks
Jeff W is offline  
post #2 of 6 Old 01-10-2012, 12:21 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Guess it may sound stupid but there isn't any wire running to that area.

Over the harmonic balancer there is the timing plate with two round hollow posts on it and it looks to be riveted or stamped on. (Almost looks like a grease fitting)

I'm totally lost on this one. It is not like the posted pic's in other threads. Not there.
Jeff W is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 01-11-2012, 05:26 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Fowlerville, MI
Posts: 61
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
we don't have a cam sensor on the IDI.

what kind of problems are you having?
'94IDITurbo7.3L is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 01-12-2012, 11:59 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks for replying.

I finally figured that out. These are definetly different beasts than their counterparts.

My main problem, I've figured out, is no power to energize my cluster electronics and fuel injector with the switch turned on. Not getting any juice to these fuses (2-20 amps and 2-10 amps). Everything else on the truck is operating fine.

Could this be a bad ignition switch? Are there any fuses in between I've missed? All the fuses in the dash are fine also.

Thanks for your help. My wife is going to shoot me if I don't figure this out quickly. Don't have the money to take it to a mechanic.
Jeff W is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 01-14-2012, 02:58 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
FordGuy100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Silverton, OR
Posts: 2,492
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Sounds like a bad ignition switch. Key on everything comes on...but turn the key and it wont crank right?

Same thing happened to mine. They are definatly a wear item. You can change them out or put the starter on a push button.

Technically, you only need 1 wire for an IDI to run (to the fuel shut off valve). Gotta love mechanical engines.

-Justin-
1985 Ford F-250 with a 6.9 IDI/T-19 4speed 4x4
Paint, Eagle Alloys, Kelly Safari TSR's, ATS turbo, gauges

2004 Jetta TDI 5 speed
2004 2wd Excursion Limited 6.0. Testing how loyal I am to Ford
1997 Passat B4V TDI. 1 of 80 imported in 97. 50 MPG and a factory 25 gallon fuel tank!
FordGuy100 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 01-16-2012, 10:25 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by FordGuy100 View Post
Sounds like a bad ignition switch. Key on everything comes on...but turn the key and it wont crank right?

Same thing happened to mine. They are definatly a wear item. You can change them out or put the starter on a push button.

Technically, you only need 1 wire for an IDI to run (to the fuel shut off valve). Gotta love mechanical engines.
Thanks

Turned out it was the security system was bad and totally shut down my starting circuit.

Jeff W is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome