Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

1990 IDI Starting issue

4K views 5 replies 5 participants last post by  vdublaz 
#1 ·
Hey guys i bought a 1990 7.3 IDI from my dad about 3 months ago, im just now getting around to work on it and im having some issues, and i would be grateful for all the help i can get.

First off i know my way around motors, but this is my first diesel so im still learning a few things, but i did buy a Chilton manual so i can do anything i need.

The truck has 156,xxx miles on it; and i have maybe put on 1000 in the past 3 months. Prior to me the truck hasn't been used in about 5 years but was started about once a month. My issue is when i start it for the first time each day it takes a lot for it to fire up. when i insert the key the "wait to start" light comes on and lights up for about 1 second, i typically wait about 10 or so, when i begin to crank the engine the "water in fuel" light comes on immediately and remains on while i crank. ill crank it for about 20 seconds max and white smoke will puff out the tail pipe sometime ill keep the pedal half way depressed, then ill stop for about 15 seconds and try again. the more i depress the pedal while cranking the more white smoke there is it seems. it sometime will take about 4 or 5 times of this before it fires up then comes a big billow of white smoke followed by a plum of black then back to white all within the first 5 seconds of running. after it is started it runs really rough for the first 30 seconds or until i rev the engine a little.

NOTE:
-The current average temp for my area is low:50F high: 75F and since im never starting it in the mornings i don't think temperature is an issue.

-so far the only things ive done to the truck are new air filter and an oil change.

any ideas?

-thanks, Dane

See less See more
#3 ·