rpm rev up - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
7.3L IDI (Non-Powerstroke) Diesels Technical discussion of topics related to vehicles powered by the 7.3 Liter In-Direct Injection Navistar engines.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-09-2010, 11:57 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
rpm rev up

I have a 1990 f250 7.3 idi with an e4od trans in it and every time I am just cruising at 40 to 60 mph the rpms rev up and down until i give it more gas or let off the peddle. I work as an advisor at the Ford dealership hear in town and one of the old time techs said it might be the fipple sensor, so we tested it and that was not it... Any ideas on what it might be?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-09-2010, 08:05 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

FIPL-Fuel Injection Pump Lever

What is happening most likely is your torque converter (TC) is locking and unlocking at speed. It only happens above 40 because thats when its on.

Some courses of action would be to ensure that the grounds in your tail lights are connected and ensure that your interior light and cargo light are grounded properly. This may sound funny but these transmissions are fairly picky.

Another course of action would be to ensure all the connection on the transmission are seated fully and not corroded.

Hopes this helps. DO NOT go and get your TC replaced. It is most likely something else that is causing this. You may need a TC but fix the current problem first and then have it replaced. I made that $700 mistake once.....

I ended up wiring a switch that grounded out the curcuit and kept the TC locked while at speed. Not the preferred method but it worked.

Thad
Old 08-10-2010, 04:27 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie