Trip 2 screen problem - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.7 Problems Forum 6.7 Problems Forum

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-23-2011, 09:50 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Quartzsite, AZ
Posts: 71
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Trip 2 screen problem

Hey all,

Wondering if anyone has had this problem:

2011 Lariat 350.........Went to the Trip screen and reset Trip 1. Then tried to reset Trip 2 and I got an orange outline rectangular box with a black center on the screen overriding the regular screen. When I push the "OK" button it says it resets correctly, but I can't see any numbers. I have turned the key off and started it again but the screen is the same. Any Ideas?

Thanks,
Bruce
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 03-23-2011, 10:22 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Hay River, NT
Posts: 154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'm trying not to reset trip 2 on my truck for as long as I own it...one way to keep track of the number of litres of fuel used...so I'm not going there...maybe a computer glitch that your dealer can reboot/install?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 03-23-2011, 10:35 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Quartzsite, AZ
Posts: 71
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I hate to take it to a dealer but that's what I might have to do.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 03-23-2011, 12:38 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: South Texas
Posts: 1,117
Thanks: 1
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'd try disconnecting your batteries for a couple minutes before you head in to the dealer. Your transmission will have to re-learn but if they reflashed it at the dealer you'd have the same problem.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 03-23-2011, 02:03 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Quartzsite, AZ
Posts: 71
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks mor4wd......that crossed my mind. I will go do that as soon as I can. Let you know.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 03-23-2011, 03:56 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Quartzsite, AZ
Posts: 71
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
OK.......I disconnected both batteries for a couple minutes and it didn't work. When I turned the key on I noticed the radio and dash still had the old info in it. I thought it would be erased. I disconnected the batteries again for 20 minutes. The Trip 2 is fixed now, however the dash and radio still has memory of what was in it. Must have a chip for memory. Thanks mor4wd for the advise. I feel a lot better.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 03-26-2011, 12:09 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Fort st. John
Posts: 127
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I had the same problem with trip one. Gave it a day and it cleared on its own. glad to see the disconnect fixed your problem
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 03-26-2011, 12:16 PM
Mod Newbie


 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 12,702
Thanks: 6
Thanked 113 Times in 106 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
If you want everything cleared, disconnect the batteries and then touch the positive and negative cable ends together. MAKE SURE BOTH BATTERIES ARE DISCONNECTED! Doing this will drain the memory that is stored in the modules.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 03-26-2011, 01:16 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Quartzsite, AZ
Posts: 71
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks, guys. If it happens again I might give it a day or two.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 05-01-2011, 07:26 AM
First 6.7 PS Destroyer

 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Somerset, Ky
Posts: 1,727
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Mine does the weird box too, what the hell is that?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors