CB radio location - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.7 Powerstroke Interior Discussion 6.7 Powerstroke Interior Discussion

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Like Tree2Likes

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-23-2012, 01:26 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 199
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
CB radio location

Got me a 2012 on Saturday.. I had my CB radio mounted in my 2006 on the vary bottom of the dash and centerd in the middle of the hump in the floor. Good spot for it but with this new one I'm kind of stumped as to where I should put it. Does anyone have good pictures of where they put theirs? Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 07-24-2012, 10:53 AM
Dont Mess With Texas!


 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Corpus Christi TX
Posts: 5,667
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Im curious as to where it would be mounted in the 6.7 as well.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 07-24-2012, 01:34 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 199
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I've seen people attach them to the roof,but Im not to crazy about doing that..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 07-26-2012, 06:01 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Lake of the Ozarks/STL
Posts: 206
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Im putting mine in the center console. I don't switch channels alot and it will be out of sight.
Fubar likes this.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 07-27-2012, 05:01 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: May 2012
Location: Sealy TX
Posts: 97
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThirdCoastStroker View Post
Im curious as to where it would be mounted in the 6.7 as well.
THAT....is a great looking truck my friend!!!!

I'd like to see some pics too. I've been think about adding one.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 07-27-2012, 12:42 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 199
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by scummins View Post
Im putting mine in the center console. I don't switch channels alot and it will be out of sight.
Wouldn't that muffle the sound? What about getting all the wires in there? What if you wanted to talk?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 07-27-2012, 03:30 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Grosse Gelb, IL
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Someone on one of the many forums mounted theirs vertically on the side of the console within the past month
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 07-27-2012, 06:25 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
CB Mount

If you purchase the Cobra 75 WX ST price around $100 or less, most of cb is built in the Mike and a small part that will fit under the panel under steering wheel as it only measures 4 inches long and 1and a half inch wide. Just pull on panel under steering wheel and if will pop loose. I put another nut on longest bolt sticking out, thru the remote mount box and it was easy to mount.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 07-28-2012, 04:17 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 199
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by hilke View Post
If you purchase the Cobra 75 WX ST price around $100 or less, most of cb is built in the Mike and a small part that will fit under the panel under steering wheel as it only measures 4 inches long and 1and a half inch wide. Just pull on panel under steering wheel and if will pop loose. I put another nut on longest bolt sticking out, thru the remote mount box and it was easy to mount.
Thanks! I didn't even think about that kind! I'd sooner use what I have,but I'll do whatever works
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 07-30-2012, 08:51 PM
Serving Our Country!


 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Groton Long Point, CT
Posts: 4,420
Thanks: 65
Thanked 108 Times in 91 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I don't have the center console. Here is how I did it:





I used a 1 1/4" wide 1/8" thick piece of mild steel and bent it in my vice. Rattle paint and screwed it to the floor. I also have an elbow for the coax input.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors