110 outlet in center console needs to be recalled - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.7 Powerstroke Interior Discussion 6.7 Powerstroke Interior Discussion

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-12-2010, 04:14 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 79
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
110 outlet in center console needs to be recalled

Well, at least in my truck. Every time we plug something into the outlet, the plug falls out! It seems like the outlet is too big or whatever holds a plug in place is missing! Anyone else experiencing this?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 08-12-2010, 08:56 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Nope, mine does not fall out, even with the daughter pulling the plug out...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 08-21-2010, 09:08 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas Hill Country
Posts: 819
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
No prob here. I use it all the time for my laptop, too.

Mark
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 08-22-2010, 10:22 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: western wyoming
Posts: 222
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by schillster1 View Post
Well, at least in my truck. Every time we plug something into the outlet, the plug falls out! It seems like the outlet is too big or whatever holds a plug in place is missing! Anyone else experiencing this?
Take it to your deealership and get it warrantied. We have warrantied alot of dumb stuff like this over the years.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 09-01-2010, 04:09 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 436
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
hmm that sounds wierd warranty?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 09-08-2010, 06:44 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 612
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Buy a 5500 watt inverter, install it under the back seat, have a stereo shop run battery grade cables under the sills/carpet from the battery and you can computers, printers....air horns, even a small refrigerator!!!! I used the 110, but had too many applications running...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 02-09-2011, 07:49 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 79
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I've done that in all my trucks but they seem to go out after about a year. Have you found one that works well? I tried several from Best Buy and the last one was a Husky from Sears.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 02-09-2011, 08:28 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 65
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I run inverters all the time for work. I have had good luck with "Go Power" brand. Just do a serch for them on the internet. A 2500w will give you about 20amps AC. Just a reminder though, this will draw over 200amps on the DC side off of your truck. Most people don't realize how much load they actually put on your vehicle, so high idle apllications have been great in my experience.

On my last vehicle I also used welding cable, as it is more durable, and ran the cable under the tuck, and came up under the back seat, as the cable required for that much amp load is quite large to run inside.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 02-09-2011, 09:10 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 79
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'm ordering an 11' and I'm looking at getting the dual alternators! I believe it has a total of 357 amps. It should be able to handle the load. Any thoughts?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 02-11-2011, 03:54 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 65
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
my only thoght on this is that the rated out put is at a certain RPM. I am unsure what it is, but it is alot easier on the batteries if you can get max out put from your alternators.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors