Spartan tuner questions - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.7 Performance Parts Discussion 6.7 Performance Parts Discussion

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-13-2014, 10:07 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Spartan tuner questions

Hey guys I just recently purchased a Spartan tuner with 40-200 hp tunes for my 2011. This is my first diesel so I am new to this and also the forum. I plan on doing straight exhaust. My question is, should I go with a delete pipe only and run the stock 4" piping with a 6" tip? OR spend the extra money and do full 5" exhaust with a 6" tip? I don't do any really heaving towing so egt shouldn't be a problem. I know the 5" sounds a little better, but what's better for the truck, 4" or 5"?

Also, I've had people tell me the Egr delete isn't necessary if the tuner disables it, then some people told me to delete it. What's y'all opinion? And if so, should I do full delete or blocking plates?

One more, is a cold air intake worth the $300 performance wise? What about just a k&n filter in stock location?

All opinions are greatly appreciated!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-13-2014, 12:46 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by 6.7pumper View Post
Hey guys I just recently purchased a Spartan tuner with 40-200 hp tunes for my 2011. This is my first diesel so I am new to this and also the forum. I plan on doing straight exhaust. My question is, should I go with a delete pipe only and run the stock 4" piping with a 6" tip? OR spend the extra money and do full 5" exhaust with a 6" tip? I don't do any really heaving towing so egt shouldn't be a problem. I know the 5" sounds a little better, but what's better for the truck, 4" or 5"?