Can I take it to the dealership with a tune on? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.7 Performance Parts Discussion 6.7 Performance Parts Discussion

User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 Old 12-29-2012, 06:04 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 543
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Can I take it to the dealership with a tune on?

Quick question, I just installed a ford two way remote start kit on my truck. Well the last part of the install is to get a dealer to activate it using the IDS machine. It won't hurt anything to get them to activate it while I have my mini max on the truck will it? Just want to be sure.

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using AutoGuide.Com Free App


2012 F250- 4.5in. lift, 24x12 rockstar II's painted tuxedo black, 37x13.50x24 M16's, KEM race tunes, 5in. exhaust, and much more.
DillonC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 Old 12-29-2012, 06:16 AM
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
 
ZMANN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 13,122
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Thanks: 331
Thanked 615 Times in 582 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I never did when under warranty even if they weren't expected to plug the IDS in

I didn't want to take 1 chance if raising an eyebrow ,, I would even pull my CST and it could only read PIDS

are you deleted at all and need the
Max

,
,
,
,
,,

Quote:
Just because I have a banner that states "Moderator"
does not mean you can't argue with my opinions !
ZMANN is offline  
post #3 of 20 Old 12-29-2012, 06:26 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 543
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZMANN View Post
I never did when under warranty even if they weren't expected to plug the IDS in

I didn't want to take 1 chance if raising an eyebrow ,, I would even pull my CST and it could only read PIDS

are you deleted at all and need the
Max
Yeah well I don't really care if they know it's tuned because I won't be going to my normal dealer anyways, but yeah that's why I was concerned because I just put a 5 inch flo-pro on it and don't want to put all the stock crap back on.

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using AutoGuide.Com Free App


2012 F250- 4.5in. lift, 24x12 rockstar II's painted tuxedo black, 37x13.50x24 M16's, KEM race tunes, 5in. exhaust, and much more.
DillonC is offline  
post #4 of 20 Old 12-30-2012, 08:09 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
jsimon724's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Even if it's not your normal dealer, they can flag it in the system if they feel like it. Then, guess what, you're pretty much screwed on warranty coverage forever.

Jim

'06 F-250 FX4
SCT X3, Edge Insight
Airraid Intake, 4" Magnaflow TB, no kitty
Bilsteins, Fumoto
Coolant Bypass Filter
ARE Contractor's Cap
EGR delete
ARP studs (Thanks, Marty)
jsimon724 is offline  
post #5 of 20 Old 12-30-2012, 11:21 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 543
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsimon724 View Post
Even if it's not your normal dealer, they can flag it in the system if they feel like it. Then, guess what, you're pretty much screwed on warranty coverage forever.
That's nice....back to the topic

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using AutoGuide.Com Free App


2012 F250- 4.5in. lift, 24x12 rockstar II's painted tuxedo black, 37x13.50x24 M16's, KEM race tunes, 5in. exhaust, and much more.
DillonC is offline  
post #6 of 20 Old 12-30-2012, 11:52 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Clayton1985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Fort St John, BC
Posts: 1,757
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 12 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Cant you just reflash stock programming in a matter of seconds/minutes with HS? Do that and be safe rather than sorry.

2008 Job 3, F350, 6.4/drw/lariat/CC/LB, Spartan, Viper 5902, Line-X, Flo-pro egr delete, aFe stage 2 proguard 7, MBRP Cool Duals/downpipe/CAC, CCV mod, coolant filter PMF 7" 4link, Rigid Dually fogs, Royalty Core 3pc, Crown brake lines, Mishimoto Rad
6.4 Rebuild May/2015, BD manifolds+Uppipes, chromoly rods, rockers,lifters, hd springs
Monstir 20", 37x12.50 ATZ P3
1999 Corvette Cpe
Clayton1985 is offline  
post #7 of 20 Old 12-30-2012, 12:07 PM
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
 
ZMANN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 13,122
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Thanks: 331
Thanked 615 Times in 582 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by DillonC View Post
That's nice....back to the topic

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using AutoGuide.Com Free App
not sure why the attitude ?

That is the exact topic unless you want a " YES" you can take it to the dealer with a tune on ??

one dealer can throw a flag for all others to see and u are screwed

,
,
,
,
,,

Quote:
Just because I have a banner that states "Moderator"
does not mean you can't argue with my opinions !
ZMANN is offline  
post #8 of 20 Old 12-30-2012, 12:18 PM
Super Moderator


 
LFD132's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Thanks: 33
Thanked 20 Times in 15 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The big issue that i would be concerned with is whether or not the dealerships computer can still read your trucks computer after you have installed the H&S programming. You may have to put it back to stock on the computer, let them flash then reinstall you H&S program.

Sent from my DROID RAZR using AutoGuide App

[SIGPIC][SIGPIC]2013 F250 FX4
LFD132 is offline  
post #9 of 20 Old 12-30-2012, 12:41 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 543
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I went to h&s's forum with the question and they said it should have nothing to do with the tune when they activate the remote start with the IDS tool.

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using AutoGuide.Com Free App


2012 F250- 4.5in. lift, 24x12 rockstar II's painted tuxedo black, 37x13.50x24 M16's, KEM race tunes, 5in. exhaust, and much more.
DillonC is offline  
post #10 of 20 Old 12-30-2012, 02:47 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
jsimon724's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZMANN View Post
not sure why the attitude ?

That is the exact topic unless you want a " YES" you can take it to the dealer with a tune on ??

one dealer can throw a flag for all others to see and u are screwed
Thanks for the backup, man. I thought I was on topic too?

Jim

'06 F-250 FX4
SCT X3, Edge Insight
Airraid Intake, 4" Magnaflow TB, no kitty
Bilsteins, Fumoto
Coolant Bypass Filter
ARE Contractor's Cap
EGR delete
ARP studs (Thanks, Marty)
jsimon724 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome