DPF, EGR explained - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.7 Performance Parts Discussion 6.7 Performance Parts Discussion

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-22-2012, 09:03 PM
Made In America

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
DPF, EGR explained

hello, i am new to diesels, and would like some insight on these mods. I dont expect anyone to post up a novel on these mods explained but maybe there is a thread i am missing. Just would like to know what they do, why people do them, etc. Buying my first diesel which will be the 6.7 and want to gather as much info as possible. Thanks! Also any other common mods i should know about generally done would be great, diesel specific though, ive had my share of lifted/modded trucks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-22-2012, 11:34 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Search the entire 6.7 forums, not each section in the category.

EGR- exhaust gas recuirculator. Puts unburnt fuel and exhaust back through your motor, to burn any unused fuel. (no black smoke)

DPF - diesel particular filter. Traps soot (black smoke) that made it through. Once the filter is clogged, the truck goes into regeneration mode and burns the soot. And you get crappy gas milage for 5- 20 mins or so.

DEF - diesel exhaust fluid is basically urea, that gets injected into the SCR (?) to trap some other emissions crap.

The whole system works pretty good but is super restrictive. Intake, exhaust, and tuner = MORE POWER and better MPG.
Old 09-22-2012, 11:36 PM

Oh BTW, those are not "mods", they are stock. Deleting them are the "mods".
Old 09-23-2012, 04:11 AM

In order to make a diesel engine EPA compliant, the EPA looks for harmful NOx (Nitrogen Oxide) output from diesel exhaust.
NOx is a byproduct of the main power component of diesel burning engines, Oxygen.