from stock to 35" tires sensors suck - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.7 Performance Parts Discussion 6.7 Performance Parts Discussion

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-25-2011, 07:58 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 106
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
from stock to 35" tires sensors suck

I wanted to see If there is anything I can do about the sensor reading low pressure on my tires. I have 35" tires and diffrent rims they put the sensors back in but the pressure is different in the mud tires. Do you guys know of any way to reset the sensors to match the rating of the mud tires?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 04-26-2011, 06:54 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Dallas
Posts: 63
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I think one of the tuners allows you to set the pressure now, I think it was H&S.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 04-26-2011, 12:16 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Deerfield Beach FL
Posts: 1,757
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Send a message via AIM to InMotionJosh
Yup, H&S. You will need to try and get your tires up to 65 psi or so to get the sensors to stop flashing the warning unless you get one of the H&S Tuners
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 04-26-2011, 01:06 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: San Diego
Posts: 146
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Another great reason to get a tuner!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 04-26-2011, 07:13 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: South Texas
Posts: 1,117
Thanks: 1
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I don't understand the point of having a truck that can tow as much as ours can, and then putting tires on it that can't handle the load. Why didn't you get load range E tires. They have them in 35's?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 04-26-2011, 08:38 PM
Serving Our Country!


 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Groton Long Point, CT
Posts: 4,416
Thanks: 65
Thanked 108 Times in 91 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
The Trail Grapplers I have are load range E and have a max inflation of 65psi.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 04-26-2011, 09:03 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 549
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The floatation type tires run at 65psi, even though they are E rated.
But the E rating on a floatation tire equals a much lower load capacity.

Mor4, Some folks perfer the floatation to the load capacity. Not everybody puts a load on their trucks like we do. 35x12.5r20 is a 35" tall E rated tire that max's at 65psi. It's rated @ 3195 lbs

Where as the Light Truck non floatation tire. LT295/65R20 is 35.5" tall and runs at 80 psi and is rated 4080 lbs That extra 15psi of air pressure = 900lbs more load per tire.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 04-26-2011, 09:40 PM
Mod Newbie


 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 12,724
Thanks: 6
Thanked 114 Times in 107 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Throw all 4 sensors in a metal pipe, cap both ends with a way to add air, pressurize to 65 PSI. Abracadabra, no more light.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 04-27-2011, 06:51 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: South Texas
Posts: 1,117
Thanks: 1
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhanna6powerstroke View Post
Throw all 4 sensors in a metal pipe, cap both ends with a way to add air, pressurize to 65 PSI. Abracadabra, no more light.
It won't work. The sensors turn themselves onto a standby mode when they don't sense the rotation of the tires. People have tried every way to get around this. The only ways are A)Run tires with a max PSI of 80 B)Put some black tape behind the dash covering the light C)Tuner
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 04-27-2011, 09:37 AM
Mod Newbie


 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 12,724
Thanks: 6
Thanked 114 Times in 107 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by mor4wd View Post
It won't work. The sensors turn themselves onto a standby mode when they don't sense the rotation of the tires. People have tried every way to get around this. The only ways are A)Run tires with a max PSI of 80 B)Put some black tape behind the dash covering the light C)Tuner
Is it hit and miss? My buddy did it on his 08 and never had a light come back on.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors