Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

Full delete and wanting tunes with NO smoke

29K views 91 replies 19 participants last post by  tmangus 
#1 ·
Alright, I've searched and no straight forward answers. I'm a complete tuning novice and I've also just messaged a vendor with not enough "after hours" time for them to respond. Is anyone running a full delete with a tune that has no smoke? Ideally zero smoke? I understand haze and small puffs and all but I'd really like a good and truly no smoke tune. Does this even exist? Research says it's possible and been done. Were they referring to just a haze? If so that's really petty good and I'd like to get to that point if it can't be better. Then the holy grail beyond that is this possible to have no smoke and add a good single turbo kit into the mix?

#2 ·
@Jeremy@NoLimit

I got all my stuff from them and run the Gearhead tunes. Unless I run it on the Race tune it doesn't smoke at all really. Most of the tunes for these trucks are no smoke tunes anyway.

#5 ·
Jeremy,

Any risk in running the race tune while not towing with no head studs? I know on the 6.4 and 6.slow it was a risk. But haven't heard much about the risk of the race tune on a 16. I don't drag race my truck or dog it or tow heavy but I do like to get on it for a few seconds every now and then.

Thanks in advance for your response.

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App

#4 ·
Run gear head tunes with zero smoke. I think it creates a little more turbo lag but they are clean as a whistle. I haven't tried race tune though.

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App

Reactions: gratitudefortoday
#7 · (Edited)
I bought my SCT from nolimitfab and all of my tunes bellow smoke out when I first stomp on it. Unless I really ease into it, I get smoke every time on take offs. The problem is that it runs way way to rich until the turbo kicks in then it leans out and stops smoking.

I also don't like the firm shifting on the Street and Performance tunes.