Lifts/wheels/tires questions - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.7 Exterior Discussion 6.7 Exterior Discussion

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-30-2012, 05:13 PM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Lifts/wheels/tires questions

Hi folks. I'm kinda new to diesels and 4wd stuff, and I'm also kind of a warranty weenie. I have a couple of questions, I thank you for any advice.

-Is the odometer going to be off as well as the speedometer, or are they fed from different sources?
-I understand that if I change suspension products/wheels/tires, that I can't really cry to Ford about anything if it breaks. But would I have a leg to stand on for engine, trans, and computer stuff? If a place recalibrates the speedo, would I then be on my own for any computer issues that might come up?

I know you guys aren't lawyers or warranty agents, but I appreciate any insight you guys might have. I love the way these trucks look lifted and bigger wheels and tires, just trying to figure out if I can live with paying to play. Thanks again, sorry for the long post.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-05-2012, 12:56 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

i have similiar questions. i would probably just have ford change the speedometer/odometer
Old 11-05-2012, 04:43 PM

Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I went through my dealership for my lift, wheels, and tires. They have done a lot of business with me so they didn't make any money off me. I paid the guy I went through on the side some cash for his help but am still covered by fords warrantee. The dealership goes through a local truck accessories shop. The lift I got covers all the wear and tear on the pieces replaced. The drivetrain and what not are covered as long as Ford's standard warrantee guarantees (3year/36,000m). If I have a problem until that day comes, they will take care of it.