need help installing the UPFITTERS Switches - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.7 Electronics Discussion 6.7 Electronics Discussion

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-04-2014, 09:40 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 74
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
need help installing the UPFITTERS Switches

Guys,

I have read every single thread.. my problem is not the plug nor the wires. I can't get to mount the relay box for some reason. Does anybody have a picture how it got mount?

I can't seems to figure it out, I know it goes on the diver side close to the door but whre???

thanks!!!


Jose

Last edited by DOGO X; 07-04-2014 at 10:26 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 07-04-2014, 10:18 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 74
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
This is the only bracket I can see under the dash!! what I'm missing????/

Last edited by DOGO X; 07-04-2014 at 11:21 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 07-04-2014, 10:20 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 74
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 07-04-2014, 10:22 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 74
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Really Ford, you coul NOT include the two bolts!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 07-04-2014, 11:16 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 1,074
Thanks: 25
Thanked 70 Times in 62 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
No I was pretty pissed about the missing bolts as well. I can't remember the size but I found a pack of 20 at Napa for like $5. I just brought the relay box to make sure I got the right bolts. Mounting that relay box is a major pain in the ***. Took me a good 45 mins to get the bolts threaded tight. One was ok but the other I could only use a Phillips in a 1/4" ratchet and get like a 1/16 turn at a time. If you can find the bolts with a hex head you will be much better off for the final tighten. Finding the plugs was ok but routing the final wiring into the center of the dash was stupid as well. Couldn't find the best path for the life of me and ended up with like 2"s of wire to play with behind the switches.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to HighHP For This Useful Post:
DOGO X (07-04-2014)
  #6  
Old 07-04-2014, 11:29 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 74
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Here is a picture of the famous plug for those who can't find it, before I remove it from the tap and after


Last edited by DOGO X; 07-04-2014 at 11:32 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 07-04-2014, 03:23 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I ran into this problem as well... I got tired of fooling with it and zip tied it to that bracket until I build enough patience to try it again

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 07-04-2014, 06:41 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 65
Thanks: 6
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
If you place the relay box at about 45 degrees from horizontal and just below the vent so that the removable cover faces the removable panel I think you'll be able to see how it sets on the mounting bracket.

My problem is I can't figure out where the ground wire goes. I couldn't see anything that looked like the "IP frame fastener."
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 07-04-2014, 07:48 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 1,074
Thanks: 25
Thanked 70 Times in 62 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I grounded mine to the relay frame bolts

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 07-05-2014, 08:15 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I grounded here, right side of throttle.

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
Attached Thumbnails
need help installing the UPFITTERS Switches-1404576890735.jpg  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors