Rigid on Aux 1 over thinking. - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.7 Electronics Discussion 6.7 Electronics Discussion

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-21-2013, 08:45 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2013
Location: Calgary Alberta
Posts: 166
Thanks: 2
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Rigid on Aux 1 over thinking.

Need some advice gents. Been reading about hooking my rigid bar to aux 1 and I think a lot of people are over thinking it.

Can I not just chop that harness that came with it and run up fitter 1 power to pass through wire to red on rigid and black on rigid to ground?


I see people using the whole harness and crazy stuff.


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 11-21-2013, 11:39 PM
Emergency Services
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Bergen County, NJ
Posts: 1,005
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I know that the rigid also has a blue, which I assume is for the switch. As long as the light is grounded and getting a positive charge from the upfitter you should have no problems.


Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 11-22-2013, 12:00 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2013
Location: Calgary Alberta
Posts: 166
Thanks: 2
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yeah that's what I mean. I'm talking it the whole harness apart and just use the plug in from light to wires with just the red and black left. Red to up fitter. Black to ground.


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 11-22-2013, 02:21 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I did that on my D2 for the fog light replacements, I just cut the wire at the back of the OEM fog light soldered that to the rigid light wires and plugged them up. Threw the whole rigid wire harness in my parts bin.....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 11-22-2013, 02:31 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 8,446
Thanks: 72
Thanked 215 Times in 203 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
it's all about amps

you have the light bar specs just make sure the up fitter you choose is compatible

otherwise u use the relay
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 11-22-2013, 04:57 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2013
Location: Calgary Alberta
Posts: 166
Thanks: 2
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks guys that's what I was thinking its way less than the 30 amps up fitter 1 is good for (I think it's 30) any way will hack off the excess and flange it up.


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 11-28-2013, 05:43 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2013
Location: Calgary Alberta
Posts: 166
Thanks: 2
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Well. It's as easy as it seems. Aux 1 yellow wire to pass through wire. Pass through wire to positive on light. Ground on light grounded and good to go. The rest of the harness is spare parts.


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 11-28-2013, 05:45 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2013
Location: Calgary Alberta
Posts: 166
Thanks: 2
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Rigid on Aux 1 over thinking.-imageuploadedbyautoguide1385689477.971181.jpgRigid on Aux 1 over thinking.-imageuploadedbyautoguide1385689506.934330.jpg

And it's crazy bright haha.


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 11-29-2013, 08:13 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 42
Thanks: 9
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Exactly how I wired mine, gotta love those upfitters, fused, relayed, yours looks good Ryan

[/URL

Last edited by Cumminsgone; 11-29-2013 at 08:25 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to Cumminsgone For This Useful Post:
Ryan2012F350 (12-20-2013)
  #10  
Old 12-18-2013, 01:10 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 542
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
That's what I did with mine. I left the plug that's made to the light itself and just took what that plugs into and attached wires to it. That way if I need to take the light off I can just unplug it and unbolt it

Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors