Adding cap need new backup camera idea - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.7 Electronics Discussion 6.7 Electronics Discussion

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-25-2013, 06:55 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Adding cap need new backup camera idea

I'm adding a ARE cap with barn doors so will remove tailgate with camera. What's my best option to install another camera and wire it into the existing connector where tailgate was. Are there license plate cameras that readily connect to the existing connector? 2013 f250
Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 10-25-2013, 09:19 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Ogden, UT
Posts: 2,475
Thanks: 1
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
If it was me, I would use the camera you already have and retrofit it into the new cap/doors.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 10-25-2013, 09:22 PM
Yeah it's a Turbo Diesel
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Dallas
Posts: 3,170
Thanks: 28
Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
Feedback Score: 10 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIG Laing View Post
If it was me, I would use the camera you already have and retrofit it into the new cap/doors.
Agreed. This would make it super easy, and retain stock configurstion, no splicing wires ECT. Just remove the tailgate skin (a few bolts) that will give you access to the camera and wiring. Basically just relocate the camera and your done.


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 10-26-2013, 02:21 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks all. The camera is in the ford emblem and I wasn't sure if I could pull it out or off of the emblem to remount. I would remount the whole emblem somewhere like on one of the barn doors but that would look strange and not centered.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 10-26-2013, 08:45 PM
Yeah it's a Turbo Diesel
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Dallas
Posts: 3,170
Thanks: 28
Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
Feedback Score: 10 reviews
If its not removable you can always buy another camera and mount it to your liking


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors