Can I add subwoofer to stock radio system? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.7 Electronics Discussion 6.7 Electronics Discussion

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-09-2013, 01:06 PM
Compression Ignition Addict


 

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 910
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Can I add subwoofer to stock radio system?

Hey guys, I'm looking to put a sub & amp in the truck without having to lose the functions of SYNC and steering wheel. Is this possible to do with the stock radio? I dont have the touchscreen/nav radio, just an XLT. and if so, also looking on what box/sub/amp combo people are able to fit in this truck?! Thanks for the help!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 07-09-2013, 01:09 PM
Member
 

Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 41
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yes. Not sure on sound quality, I haven't looked into these things for a good 10+ years.

There are adapters that tap into your rear speaker wires and create RCA adapters to connect to your amp.

This is just one option, I'm not familiar with the new radios either, this could be a big no no and maybe the stock radio has RCAs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 07-09-2013, 03:47 PM
Compression Ignition Addict


 

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 910
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
hmmmmm....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 07-10-2013, 06:49 AM
Member
 

Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 41
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Something like these...

speaker wire to rca adapter at Crutchfield.com
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 07-10-2013, 06:02 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Ogden, UT
Posts: 2,480
Thanks: 1
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have tapped into speaker wires before, and the sound quality isn't horrible. (as long as your amp has a low frequency filter)

I thought there was a thread on here, about a guy who tapped into the factory sub? Let me see if I can find it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 07-10-2013, 06:10 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Ogden, UT
Posts: 2,480
Thanks: 1
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
This is not the thread I remembered. But it has some good info. Factory Sub and Amp Replacement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 07-12-2013, 04:13 AM
Compression Ignition Addict


 

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 910
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thing is I don't have factory sub?


Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 07-12-2013, 11:10 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 155
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have a friend that runs an electronics shop that added an amp and subs under the back seat in my old 2010 F150 with Sync, and we were both amazed at how awesome it sounded. I'm not sure what he used to tap in to the factory radio, but knowing how particular he is, he did it right. Sorry I can't tell u how, but It can be done, and sound great.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 07-12-2013, 11:33 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: North East Pa
Posts: 91
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
they sell a converter that converts speaker wire to rca's and then run an amp and sub. Thats what we do generally in our trucks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 07-12-2013, 08:24 PM
Compression Ignition Addict


 

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 910
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Okay, got a price on a custom built box, with sub amp and tapping into factory radio today from a Car audio place. $500. After the equipment, its only paying $100 for them in labor. Not bad I think.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors