Anyone done Sync updates? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.7 Electronics Discussion 6.7 Electronics Discussion

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-14-2013, 06:47 PM
Emergency Services
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Bergen County, NJ
Posts: 986
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Anyone done Sync updates?

I downloaded the update to my flash drive today, it says engine has to be running for the 25 min process. Can I do it while driving or in accessory mode? That's about 24 minutes too much idle time for me.


Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 05-15-2013, 05:39 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: May 2013
Location: Rathdrum ID
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I downloaded the update and put it in my truck, however the update date/rev number was the same one I already had.

It took closer to 10 mins not 25 for me.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 05-15-2013, 10:21 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 105
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I tried updating mine, and I can't seem to get it to work.
I have the lockpick installed... so I wonder if that has something to do with it not updating.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 05-15-2013, 02:14 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 103
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Engine needs to be running till it completes the install process. I've done two installs on my wife's explorer that have taken 45 minutes each. Other option is to take it to the dealer and they can do it for you.


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 05-15-2013, 03:29 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 742
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I've got a 2010 with nav and I have also tried to no avail to update my Sync. Took it to the dealership for a blend door problem and asked them to update it while it was in. They called and said they couldn't do it because I needed to purchase a $175 update disc for it. Ridiculous? It works fine but it says it's due for an update online but I guess I'm screwed on that.


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 05-16-2013, 04:35 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 137
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
what is in the update?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 05-16-2013, 05:47 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4,673
Thanks: 30
Thanked 40 Times in 40 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I updated mine using my flash drive and didn't have to have my truck running. Update went smooth and now my phone works better. I was having trouble with incoming calls, no more after the update.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 05-16-2013, 06:37 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 317
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
If its under warranty why do it yourself? The updates and check ups are covered in the price of the truck. Let them figure the pian in the a$$ out.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 05-27-2013, 07:17 PM
Emergency Services
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Bergen County, NJ
Posts: 986
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I finally got the chance to do it. Literally took 3 mins and became more of a pain in the ***, now my stupid 911 assist message keeps going off. Does it with the option for no message to come on, and even comes on to notify me that I have it turned on. Can't win with this thing.


Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 06-05-2013, 07:04 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Petal, MS
Posts: 109
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Just tried mine, and like yours it said Install Complete after 1-3 minutes, thought all was well, then I saw where I'm supposed to ignore the first Complete signal.
So I started all over and gave it 45 minutes extra with it displaying "Install Done" the whole time. Instructions said I would have to rePair my phone, but it still pairs up so I am thinking I just wasted a couple of hours.
Oh well, I guess my question is, How do I know when the Install is complete, when it tells me this the whole time?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors