Having trouble with the NAV on my new 2013 - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.7 Electronics Discussion 6.7 Electronics Discussion

User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 28 Old 05-14-2013, 06:53 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Summitman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Having trouble with the NAV on my new 2013

I have a new 2013 F350(435 miles) with the My Ford Touch. The NAV system is about a 2 city streets off. When I'm driving on the highway, somethimes it had NO idea where I am or sometimes it shows mw driving off to the side the road.

2013 F350 Crew/Short
Gray on Black
Amp boards
20" XD Addicts/325-65-20 GY Dura Trac
Retrax Cover
BDS Leaveling kit with Fox Shocks
NAV
Fab 4 Front Pre-Runner Bumper
T-Rex Grill
Summitman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 28 Old 05-17-2013, 08:16 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 10
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I know this is no help but mine does the same damn thing. I need to take it in and see what the hell is wrong with it.
FMKeith is offline  
post #3 of 28 Old 05-19-2013, 10:43 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Summitman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
My service manager plugged into the truck and found a newer nav update. I'm trying hat for now. At times it's better, other times its horrible. Hopefully it comes out of it.

2013 F350 Crew/Short
Gray on Black
Amp boards
20" XD Addicts/325-65-20 GY Dura Trac
Retrax Cover
BDS Leaveling kit with Fox Shocks
NAV
Fab 4 Front Pre-Runner Bumper
T-Rex Grill
Summitman is offline  
post #4 of 28 Old 05-21-2013, 07:31 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 10
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I took mine in today. They said that this is now a known problem with the 2013's. They have some update that is supposed to fix it.

For Sale: 2013 Lariat Ultimate CCSB 15K miles
3.55 ELD, Tinted, AMP setps, Retrax Pro, Two Spot Rigid D2 Dually's, Two Flood Rigid D2 Dually's, Fabtech 6in lift, Billstein struts, Dual Pro Comp Steering Stabilizers, 20in XD Addicts, 37x13.5x20 Toyo M/T, Line-X, Diversi-Tech 12" drop hitch, H&S Mini Maxx, 5in Flo Pro, H&S EGR delete, S&B CAI
FMKeith is offline  
post #5 of 28 Old 05-22-2013, 07:36 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Summitman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I had mine updates to the newest version on the 18th, but it didnt fix it.

2013 F350 Crew/Short
Gray on Black
Amp boards
20" XD Addicts/325-65-20 GY Dura Trac
Retrax Cover
BDS Leaveling kit with Fox Shocks
NAV
Fab 4 Front Pre-Runner Bumper
T-Rex Grill
Summitman is offline  
post #6 of 28 Old 05-23-2013, 06:50 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
TampaSteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Tampa and Nashville
Posts: 567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by FMKeith View Post
I took mine in today. They said that this is now a known problem with the 2013's. They have some update that is supposed to fix it.
Doing it now, it's an APIM update, then reconfigure the Navagation module.


2012 F-250 6.7 CCSB
Spartan war hammer, wicked wheel II, S&B intake, 4" flow pro w/dual mufflers, rigid dually's, IPad in dash, JL stealth box under rear seat, Hertz HSK 165 front and rear, JL 450/4, 500/1, line x, roll x tonneau, Titan Tank, and coming soon 6" lift, American force 22x11 Recon SS wrapped in 37's.
TampaSteve is offline  
post #7 of 28 Old 05-23-2013, 06:57 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 10
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
My truck is at Ford right this second getting updated. I will let you guys know how it goes.

For Sale: 2013 Lariat Ultimate CCSB 15K miles
3.55 ELD, Tinted, AMP setps, Retrax Pro, Two Spot Rigid D2 Dually's, Two Flood Rigid D2 Dually's, Fabtech 6in lift, Billstein struts, Dual Pro Comp Steering Stabilizers, 20in XD Addicts, 37x13.5x20 Toyo M/T, Line-X, Diversi-Tech 12" drop hitch, H&S Mini Maxx, 5in Flo Pro, H&S EGR delete, S&B CAI
FMKeith is offline  
post #8 of 28 Old 05-23-2013, 11:06 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
TampaSteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Tampa and Nashville
Posts: 567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by FMKeith View Post
My truck is at Ford right this second getting updated. I will let you guys know how it goes.
Tire Size is the issue

The Navigation system uses a combination of inputs to accurately locate the vehicle in all conditions. The input from the GPS satellites is the primary input; however the system also looks at the wheel pulse from the ABS module to calculate distance along with the gyro information from the RCM to calculate direction. This allows the system to continue to function in conditions where there may be a loss in signal (such as in a tunnel).

Altering tire size affects the count of the wheel pulse because the system will calculate distance inaccurately - for example the system expects 100 yards based on the count, but the vehicle actually traveled 110 yards because of the larger tires. When viewed on a map, this will place the vehicle off the road or contribute to a mis-timing of corners.


2012 F-250 6.7 CCSB
Spartan war hammer, wicked wheel II, S&B intake, 4" flow pro w/dual mufflers, rigid dually's, IPad in dash, JL stealth box under rear seat, Hertz HSK 165 front and rear, JL 450/4, 500/1, line x, roll x tonneau, Titan Tank, and coming soon 6" lift, American force 22x11 Recon SS wrapped in 37's.
TampaSteve is offline  
post #9 of 28 Old 05-23-2013, 11:17 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 10
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by TampaSteve View Post
Tire Size is the issue

The Navigation system uses a combination of inputs to accurately locate the vehicle in all conditions. The input from the GPS satellites is the primary input; however the system also looks at the wheel pulse from the ABS module to calculate distance along with the gyro information from the RCM to calculate direction. This allows the system to continue to function in conditions where there may be a loss in signal (such as in a tunnel).

Altering tire size affects the count of the wheel pulse because the system will calculate distance inaccurately - for example the system expects 100 yards based on the count, but the vehicle actually traveled 110 yards because of the larger tires. When viewed on a map, this will place the vehicle off the road or contribute to a mis-timing of corners.
Thank you. I have a Hypertech unit on its way. So, I am guessing that will fix this problem.

For Sale: 2013 Lariat Ultimate CCSB 15K miles
3.55 ELD, Tinted, AMP setps, Retrax Pro, Two Spot Rigid D2 Dually's, Two Flood Rigid D2 Dually's, Fabtech 6in lift, Billstein struts, Dual Pro Comp Steering Stabilizers, 20in XD Addicts, 37x13.5x20 Toyo M/T, Line-X, Diversi-Tech 12" drop hitch, H&S Mini Maxx, 5in Flo Pro, H&S EGR delete, S&B CAI
FMKeith is offline  
post #10 of 28 Old 05-29-2013, 01:50 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Summitman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by FMKeith View Post
Thank you. I have a Hypertech unit on its way. So, I am guessing that will fix this problem.
I just spoke to Jimmy at Hypertech. He was aware of the problem, and said the speedo cal unit they sell wont fix the problem. I'm trying to talk to Ford to see if they have a fix for it.

2013 F350 Crew/Short
Gray on Black
Amp boards
20" XD Addicts/325-65-20 GY Dura Trac
Retrax Cover
BDS Leaveling kit with Fox Shocks
NAV
Fab 4 Front Pre-Runner Bumper
T-Rex Grill
Summitman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome