Factory Sub and Amp Replacement - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.7 Electronics Discussion 6.7 Electronics Discussion

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-02-2011, 11:34 AM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Factory Sub and Amp Replacement

Maybe this is already posted, but I couldn't find it.

I would like to replace my factory sub and amp using the original box as I'm only interested in improving my base, not shattering my windows!

I'm thinking about installing an 8" Kicker CVT, which apparently will be a perfect fit, or an 8" Kicker CVR with a 3/4" spacer ring.

Is there a replacement amp that will work by using the factory wiring harness (plug and play)?

Or do I have to go the long route by getting a sound processor, pre-amp, amp, etc..?

What's the easiest method of improving my base?

I have some experience installing sound systems, but like I said, I just want a slight improvement with the base, and I may upgrade the door speakers at a later date.

I had an '06 Duramax with the premium sound system. I upgraded the sound system in that truck by installing a digital Luxury amplifier from a Cadillac Escalade. There was quite a bit of wiring involved to do the conversion, but it was well worth it as the sound difference was night and day, using the same factory speakers and woofer.

It would be nice if there was a similar type upgrade available for our Fords.

Thanks in advance for any information/suggestions!!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-03-2011, 02:39 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

im using a Rockford fosgate PBR300X1 amp now. it easily connects to the factory wiring.no extra routing of wires. works great 300W RMS and its tiny . heres a link for info.Rockford Fosgate® - PBR300X1.
And i am using a Rockford Fosgate P3SD410 sub,heres a link .Rockford Fosgate® - P3SD410