Question about factory navigation compatibility - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.7 Electronics Discussion 6.7 Electronics Discussion

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-22-2011, 03:55 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Question about factory navigation compatibility

Hello all,
New member here. Just traded in my 06 F250 for an 11' F250 and all I can say is WOW! One of the best vehicle purchases I have made.
The only regret I have is that I did not opt for the factory nav unit. Initially I thought that I did not want it due to I get what I need out of my phone. After playing around with the sync system, it leaves me with the desire to install a factory nav unit. I have done a fair amount of research on the subject and have searched extensively, but cannot find the answer to my current question, which is what years are compatible with the 2011 model year. From what little I can find, it appears as though 2009-2011 are the same units. If anyone can verify this, I would truly appreciate it.
I have a line on a unit pulled from a 2009 Explorer. I understand I would still need some additional pieces to make it work and will likely need to have it reprogrammed.
Any insight would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Shawn
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 05-22-2011, 05:05 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Okay, did a little more digging and I think I have I know what unit to look for.

Next question, do I still need the amplifier unit?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 05-30-2011, 06:35 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 177
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yes, you would I believe. The factory nav units have no internal amplifier. Does the std radio have an external amp? They are mounted under the driver column slightly left.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 06-14-2011, 09:52 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i believe when i spoke to ford, if your truck is under warranty and want to swap out your radio for navigation they will do that for you for free, thats according to my local ford dealer, i will call them up and ask them if you could do the same
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 06-29-2011, 03:06 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Seal Beach, CA
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Light color

Just got to make sure your background light color on the buttons and knobs are blue and not green. You are looking for a bc3t-18k931.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 07-07-2011, 06:36 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Joaquin,Tx
Posts: 91
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I just got a nav unit from a 2010 superduty.I installed it in my 2011 and all I had was the sub playing.Now I know why lol.It came on and played.But,it said it had an error with the nav.I know the unit is good.

Is the nav module in the unit or will I need to purchase that? The nav unit from the 10' has alot of plugs my 11' cd player doesnt have on the back of it.

Also my steering wheel buttons for the radio wouldnt work.I guess I need to take it to the dealer.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 07-07-2011, 07:32 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The reason you only hear the sub is that it has a dedicated amp. You will need to buy the factory amp from ford as the nav unit does not have built in amplification. If your truck came stock with Sirius, then you will need a splitter for the satellite antenna to get the navigation to work, if you do not have sirius, you will need to get the who.e antenna assembly. If you have steering wheel controls, you will need to swap the control module in the steering wheel as well. If not, you can still get it, but it is a bit more involved as the wiring is not in all trucks.

The amp, satellite antenna and the steering wheel control can all be purchased from Ford for around $250.00. There are two options forbthe amp, one with mounting bracket and one without, the one with the bracket is actually cheaper and despite what you might read, there is a specific spot for it and it bolts up fairly easily. You will need one more item that Ford does not have and that is a "T" splitter harness for the amp. You can get this from Radiosandmore.com. They make this harness specifically for adding the nav after the fact. There is a difference between the 08'-10' and the 11'. Beings you are using a radio out of a 10' you may want to call them and ask which harness to use.

I don't have all the part numbers readily available, but if you go to the parts counter, they can look everything up for you.

Don't worry about allnthe unused connections as this radio is used in several different cars.

Lastly, it is highly likely you will have to send the radio in to be programmed. Don't assume the dealer knows what to do. You will more than likely have to tell them where to send it. Currently the only place I found to do this is United Radio. I found that they are reluctant to do this and make it sound harder than it is.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 07-08-2011, 10:48 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Joaquin,Tx
Posts: 91
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Dang, thats alot more than I wanted to fool with lol.I was hoping it would be an easy swap.Sounds like the worst part of it will be rounding everything up and getting it reprogrammed.

Thanks for the info!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 07-09-2011, 07:37 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It is really not that bad. You need four parts, three of which can be purchased from Ford. The install is pretty straight forward. In my opinion, the hardest part is getting the programming done.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 07-09-2011, 06:09 PM
The Warden
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Trinity NC
Posts: 569
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Have you thought about after market with nav,cd,dvd audio and video for rear moniters,bluetooth
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors