Gauge Sweep Option...??? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.7 Electronics Discussion (2011-2016) 6.7 Electronics Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 Old 12-03-2013, 06:27 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 109
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Gauge Sweep Option...???

Does anyone know if/how to activate the Gauge Needle Sweep?? For those of you that don't know what I'm talking about... When you start the truck the indicator needles on all the gauges sweep full left to full right then settle to current operating conditions. I've seen this on two other 11+ superduty's, however mine does'nt do it. Its just kind of a cool little thing...
golfpineacres is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 12-03-2013, 07:05 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
wvrrcarknocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 422
Thanks: 13
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to wvrrcarknocker
I thought they all did it. Every one that I've worked on has, iirc.
wvrrcarknocker is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 12-03-2013, 07:37 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 109
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Mine is a 12 F350 SRW CC. Checked again with memory on and definately does'nt do it. Hoping its not a reflash thing..
golfpineacres is offline  
post #4 of 15 Old 12-03-2013, 08:55 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
ATCguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Fulltime RVer
Posts: 109
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I always thought it was superfluous & annoying myself... just goes to show we all like different things, and that's good.

Tom

2014 F-450 PLATINUM
2014 Dutchmen Voltage 3200 5th Wheel Toy Hauler
2007 Honda GL1800A Gold Wing
ATCguy is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 12-08-2013, 10:28 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Hold the down and the middle button while starting the truck
Pavin2 is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 12-08-2013, 06:12 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 109
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pavin2 View Post
Hold the down and the middle button while starting the truck
All this does is put the dash into a self diagnosis mode. Causes the gauges to sweep and go through all the checks. Once the truck is shut off and restarted it reverts back to the non sweep mode. Unless Im missing something.

Although we are getting close....
golfpineacres is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 12-08-2013, 10:44 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 334
Thanks: 13
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
After reading this post I noticed mine doesnt do it either. Pretty neat feature. I would like to know how to get it turned on myself


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


KENNY
2013 F250 Platinum Tuxedo Black
3.5" Ready Lift
Firestone Air Bags
20x10 BMF Novacane DMB
35x12.50R20 Toyo MT
kennyketten is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 12-09-2013, 05:19 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 68
Thanks: 20
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I think its only some 2011 trucks, Job one trucks if i remember correctly.
rossmelvin is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 12-09-2013, 06:22 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You can enable it with the engineering test mode, but AFAIK not as a normal "make it do that for fun" type of deal. That said, if it's possible in a test mode then there is probably some hidden command you could send through the ODB2 diagnostic port to trigger it.
rforsythe is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to rforsythe For This Useful Post:
kennyketten (12-09-2013)
post #10 of 15 Old 12-11-2013, 04:21 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 35
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
My 13 does not do it..... an I dont really care...

2013 F350 CC KR SRW. Ruby Red/ Tan trim
Loaded!

SOLD
99 F250 EXt cab 7.3 Lariet. 170,00...no issues!
JMCFAN is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome