Instrument cluster quit....and won't start - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4L Problems Forum Having Trouble? Post here

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 Old 03-04-2009, 05:45 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Somewhere in Alberta
Posts: 87
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Instrument cluster quit....and won't start

Another saga....

Today the instrument cluster went on the fritz. All of the trouble lights would come on and the gauges would all stop working, drive a little bit and everything would reverse.

I'm getting codes saying lost communications with instruments, lost communications with ABS sensor....

I'm thinking something caught my wiring harness underneath...any ideas?
rollthecoal is offline  
post #2 of 6 Old 03-04-2009, 05:56 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Greenhorn Diesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Worthington, PA
Posts: 379
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by rollthecoal View Post
Another saga....

Today the instrument cluster went on the fritz. All of the trouble lights would come on and the gauges would all stop working, drive a little bit and everything would reverse.

I'm getting codes saying lost communications with instruments, lost communications with ABS sensor....

I'm thinking something caught my wiring harness underneath...any ideas?
It could be a slight possibilty. Are you running a programmer? Did you have your truck reflashed recently?

Brad

2008 Ford F-350 XLT CC, LB, DRW, Job1 updated to Job3, 4.10 gears, 6.4L Powerstroke, White/Pueblo Gold, DeeZee Stainless steel elite cab boards, Spartan tuned(150dpf enables, 150, 210), Flo-Pro DOC/DPF delete AFE Pro Guard 7 both from Cobb's diesel, B&W turnover ball hitch, cody cushion , Cobra CB with co-phased Silverload 4' whips,

Greenhorn Diesel is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 03-04-2009, 06:40 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Somewhere in Alberta
Posts: 87
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The truck was reflashed in mid January. I took it to work and the dpf plugged up after a few days. I was not able to get into a Ford dealership, so I had a dpf-r installed, and I was running an edge evolution as guages only. I have about 3500 km on this setup
rollthecoal is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 03-04-2009, 07:15 PM
Emergency Services

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Beeville, TX
Posts: 1,489
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
My f450 had a problem with a bad plug on a front ABS sensor that caused a problem like this. It was brand new at the time, and the ford dealer had to call some ford engineers to figure it out.

Eli Benson - EMT, Ambulance Mechanic
----------
'08 F350 Dually KR - Spartan'd
'07 F250 CC SB 4x4 XLT - SCT /w Innovative Tunes
4 '09 & '10 E350 6.0l ambulances
1 '08 Duramax 6.6 (LMM) van ambulance
elibenson is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 03-06-2009, 10:58 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Somewhere in Alberta
Posts: 87
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
They are saying that they can't even read codes off of the computer right now...it appears to be fried....

What a POS this truck has turned out to be
rollthecoal is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 03-06-2009, 03:58 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Greenhorn Diesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Worthington, PA
Posts: 379
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by rollthecoal View Post
They are saying that they can't even read codes off of the computer right now...it appears to be fried....

What a POS this truck has turned out to be
Maybe you had a "sleeper" virus in your truck's computer from the reflash. I know it's unlikely, but anything is possible. Why would the ECU be fried? I hope they get you fixed up

Brad

2008 Ford F-350 XLT CC, LB, DRW, Job1 updated to Job3, 4.10 gears, 6.4L Powerstroke, White/Pueblo Gold, DeeZee Stainless steel elite cab boards, Spartan tuned(150dpf enables, 150, 210), Flo-Pro DOC/DPF delete AFE Pro Guard 7 both from Cobb's diesel, B&W turnover ball hitch, cody cushion , Cobra CB with co-phased Silverload 4' whips,

Greenhorn Diesel is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome