Need a little insight guys - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4L Problems Forum Having Trouble? Post here

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-23-2014, 10:40 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Need a little insight guys

I'm pretty new to diesels as I just bought my first a few months back. I have an 08 f250 cc srw. I have added s&b Cai 5inch flowpro down pipe back with no muffler and a sct live wire with custom tunes from rudys with the egr turned off and no dpf. I have a egr delete kit with elbow and mishimoto radiator sitting in the basement ready to install. Yesterday was the first time since I put on the tuner and exhaust that I really drove the truck anywhere( just went for a test drive Friday night after install with no problems) I drove about 30 miles down the interstate monitoring the egt's and coolant oil temps. Everything looked good and the truck seemed to be running fine. The egt got to around 1150 or so when I got on it one good time and the coolant/oil temps were always within 4 degrees of each other and we're running around 198 or so on the freeway. I'm running rudys tune 3 witch is a 100 horse and 200 torque boost. This is the tune I was planning on keeping it at since I wasn't looking for a big gain in power just wanting longevity and a little bit of fuel mileage out of the truck. When I got to my destination and put the truck in park it suddenly went into a high idle and started blowing a lot of blue/white smoke out of the exhaust. I shut her down and came back in about a half hour cranked her up and after about 45 seconds to a minute it did it again. I shut it down reprogrammed it to rudys tune 1 which is just a egr and dpf delete with no gain. The truck did not do the high idle smoke thing again. I have been driving around today with no issues on the tune 1. The symptoms seem to point to the oil seal in the turbo