LOW TIRE PRESSURE LIGHT - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4L Problems Forum Having Trouble? Post here

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-28-2008, 05:45 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 94
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
LOW TIRE PRESSURE LIGHT

The other day I took one of my wheels off to see if a set of after market wheels would fit before I bought them and I didnt even start the truck after the swap, Now 4 days after I put the stock wheel back on a low tire pressure signal came on and wont go off. Any Help would be greatly appreciated. Also does this mean that when I go to aftermarket wheels it will continue to throw this alarm? Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 10-28-2008, 09:53 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Scurry TX
Posts: 301
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
To answer your question first. Yes, if you go with aftermarket tires that you can not inflate to factory pressures you will get the signal (since you already know you have the system). No solution has been found yet to the best of my knowledge. To fix your truck now "Go to the owners manual and follow the instructions for rotating your tires", you should have gotten a little fob that will allow you to do this. Sorry couldn't be more help on new tires.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 10-28-2008, 09:55 AM
Let's Run'em


 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 17,697
Thanks: 4
Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to TwinTurboStroker
If I'm not mistaken I believe the dealership can turn off the monitor, I mean there must be some way, because I don't have them
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 10-28-2008, 10:01 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Scurry TX
Posts: 301
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Twin Turbo: I don't think they can (legally) maybe physically. I think your truck is pre-tpms. It is either job II or III, no one has quite figured this out yet. When you replaced your wheels and tires did you notice a band on the inside of your rim? I know from all I've read over the past few months no one has figured it out yet. Did you get a tire programmer fob with your truck?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 10-28-2008, 10:02 AM
Let's Run'em


 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 17,697
Thanks: 4
Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to TwinTurboStroker
Quote:
Originally Posted by 737tdi View Post
Twin Turbo: I don't think they can (legally) maybe physically. I think your truck is pre-tpms. It is either job II or III, no one has quite figured this out yet. When you replaced your wheels and tires did you notice a band on the inside of your rim? I know from all I've read over the past few months no one has figured it out yet. Did you get a tire programmer fob with your truck?
No mine is a Job 1, and no there weren't any bands when I changed the wheels or fobs offered with mine, also it might something to do with the fact its a dually
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 10-28-2008, 10:05 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Scurry TX
Posts: 301
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
To try to make it a little more legible. FoMoCo agreed to install TPMS on all trucks after a set manufacture date, what this date is I don't know. All job 1 trucks and some job 2 trucks beat this date so it's a toss up as to who has it and who doesnt'. I have a job 3 so I know mine has it. A little clearer???
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 10-28-2008, 10:07 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Scurry TX
Posts: 301
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Dang you were posting when I was, and you are right, a dually may not be included. It is very vague. As well as anything above an F-350 may not be included. Nah: I knew your was a Job 1 I just didn't say it very well.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 10-28-2008, 11:26 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: baltimore oh
Posts: 232
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
not positive about your truck but i know some cars if you drive a consecutive 10 or 15 miles without shutting the car off and speeds excess of 25 mph it will shut off its self if you go with after market ones i've heard if you have the valve stem tpms you can just throw them in your spare and air them up hope this helps you
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 10-28-2008, 11:36 AM
Let's Run'em


 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 17,697
Thanks: 4
Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to TwinTurboStroker
Quote:
Originally Posted by sevenpointthree View Post
i've heard if you have the valve stem tpms you can just throw them in your spare and air them up hope this helps you
Now that might be a good idea
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 10-28-2008, 11:50 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Scurry TX
Posts: 301
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
These are not valve stem type. They have to have rotation or they will set off the signal. I Know I am being awfully difficult about this, folk's have tried putting them in pressurized containers, just carrying them with them, I ain't kidding here, it is going to have to be a computer fix and no one has figured it out yet. If you're tires aren't at 65 or 85 depending on your truck you are going to get a tpms fault, until Spartan or someone else figures out how to do away with it. Now this is all from what I've read over the last few months, no xperience here except for reading. I'm still running stock tires. I did deflate mine by 50 lbs. and they do cause the tpms fault. J.M.H.O.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors