Missing Pet**** plug - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4L Problems Forum Having Trouble? Post here

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Like Tree3Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-30-2014, 01:54 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Park Rapids, MN
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Missing Pet**** plug

My new (second) Vista Pro radiator came without a plug. Called Vista and they said they don't have measurments and thread counts on these and they don't have replacement plugs since they don't even manufacture them. I was told it would be a few days to contact the manufacturer, I'm assuming in China. What do you think about sealing it up with JB weld or some other product and just relying on disconnecting the lower radiator hose to drain for flushes? Is that not smart because of not being able to drain the radiator? Any suggestions??
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 01-30-2014, 03:44 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Park Rapids, MN
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
A little help here guys, come on! Who has the Vista Pro Ready Rad?!?! Know the size? 5/8 measured with a tape measure but who knows the pitch? 18?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 01-30-2014, 03:50 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 422
Thanks: 13
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to wvrrcarknocker
Does the old radiator have one?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 01-30-2014, 03:51 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Park Rapids, MN
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yes and it's a different size.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 01-30-2014, 04:38 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 166
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I would make who you got it from square things away.....
BurTronn likes this.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 01-30-2014, 05:38 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Park Rapids, MN
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yeah contacted Vista Pro and they have no clue. They told me they don't even know who manufacturers the radiators for them other than they're from Mexico. What a crapshoot.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 01-30-2014, 06:18 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Centerport, PA
Posts: 261
Thanks: 5
Thanked 17 Times in 14 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Tell them to send you a whole new rad, take the plug, and make them pay to ship the rest back.
BurTronn likes this.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 01-30-2014, 06:31 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 4,158
Thanks: 14
Thanked 53 Times in 52 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send it back and get a moshimoto. Especially if one vista pro already failed.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 01-30-2014, 07:28 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Park Rapids, MN
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yeah I thought about that, but I got it for a steal at $512.00 and currently enjoying unemployment checks at half my normal pay because my rig is stacked out. If money wouldn't have been so tight at the moment Mishimoto was my first choice. I ended up contacting the place where I got it and they are sending me the plug from the first defective radiator. So I just have a few more days to wait I guess. Hell it's only been 10 days! Cripes
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 01-30-2014, 07:28 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Park Rapids, MN
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
And FYI to whoever may need it in the future, the size of the plug is 16mm x 1.50 pitch.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors