Fuel filter maintenance question - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4L Problems Forum Having Trouble? Post here

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-16-2014, 03:55 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Fuel filter maintenance question

My 2008 F250 is new to me (1 month), and it was time to change the fuel filters so I tackled the job last night. It was a royal PITA as everybody says but I have a question for the experts here.

When I drained the water/fuel separator, it dumped a bunch of fuel into my container as expected so I continued with my change and when completed I looked at the fuel in the container which surprised me. There was gunk that settled to the bottom that looked like black grit and a 1/2" x 1/4" black glob of something. Is this normal, should I be concerned? I am a diesel noob so this is very new to me. The previous owner changed fuel filters every 4k miles so it's not like it has been forever on these filters. Both filters were moderately dirty but not black or clogged.

I took a bit of a diesel bath as the fuel dumped out of the primary housing when I took the filter out, my wife is not happy with the smell!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-16-2014, 04:21 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

Depending on how full your tank is that may be why you got soaked. Try to be under half a tank. Next time get 2 feet of extensions to your 36mm socket and it becomes a good bit easier to take the cap off the primary underneath. You can run a tube from the water separation/drain valve to a bucket that will also help some.

The funk you found may be from the previous owner being lazy, bad fuel, or who knows what.

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
Old 01-16-2014, 04:23 AM

I highly doubt the fuel filters were changed every 4K. The norm is oil at 5K. Fuel filters every 10K.